MW / Home / Reviews / NEIL YOUNG: Colorado
BAND/AUTHOR:

NEIL YOUNG

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
COLORADO
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
REPRISE
GENRE:
ROCK
"Although the album is not a must in the Canadian's discography, "Colorado" remains an effective album that will delight all fans of Neil Young and Crazy Horse."
DARIALYS - 15.11.2019 -
He is no longer being introduced. At 74, Neil Young is a legend in the Canadian folk-rock scene. And for good reason, the artist has a huge discography: about forty studio albums and about ten live albums. Twelve years after his last album with his emblematic band, Crazy Horse, the rocker is back with them for a new album called "Colorado".

Time has passed, but aficionados can rest assured: the musician's paw is undeniably present. It will only take a few seconds in the first track, 'Think Of Me', to immediately find ourselves immersed in Neil Young's sound. Heady, catchy, with a country atmosphere in place, supported by an acoustic guitar and harmonica solos, all the usual components are united in this simple and effective track.

The Canadian, although in his seventies, has not lost his rock'n' roll spirit as evidenced by the most energetic tracks like 'Shut It Down' and his electric guitar with its usual sound and 'Help Me Lose My Mind', which although slower, retains a certain power. 'She Showed Me Love' also has some interesting ideas and is reminiscent of the classic 'Down By The River', although the 13 minutes of the song could (should?) have been divided by two. The guitarist also knows how to calm the game down, and as usual, there are many ballads. 'Green Is Blue' and 'Milky Way' bring a little respite while 'Olden Days' is more rock.

So certainly, we won't find the little spark that made the audience vibrate like on the musician's old albums. The listener will miss the catchphrases that made some titles of the time cult. In an era of irreproachable productions and ever more oriented towards perfection, Neil Young remained anchored in the 70s and 80s. Dirty guitars are still legion and there are even some false vocal notes on 'Rainbow Of Colors' and 'Milky Way' that will surprise the listener. But whatever the case may be, the guitarist's signature is indeed present, and it is perhaps even this touch of imperfection that makes the man's compositions so alive and authentic.

Although the album is not a must in the Canadian's discography, we can only applaud his initiative to release yet another album while many emblematic musical figures with a similar background have not ventured into it for many years. "Colorado" remains an effective album that will delight all fans of Neil Young and Crazy Horse.

More informations on http://neilyoung.com/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

THE ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND, BOB DYLAN, CROSBY, STILL & NASH, BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN

TRACK LISTING

01. Think Of Me - 3:02
02. She Showed Me Love - 13:36
03. Olden Days - 4:04
04. Help Me Lose My Mind - 4:14
05. Green Is Blue - 3:48
06. Shut It Down - 3:44
07. Milky Way - 5:59
08. Eternity - 2:43
09. Rainbow Of Colors - 3:35
10. I Do - 5:36


LINEUP

Billy Talbot: Basse
Neil Young: Chant / Guitares / Claviers / Harmonica
Nils Lofgren: Guitares / Claviers / Piano
Ralph Molina: Batterie


TAGS:
Bluesy, Folk, Old School
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS NEIL YOUNG
 
RATING
 
2.7/5 (3 view(s))
2.5/5 (2 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS NEIL YOUNG
 
NEIL-YOUNG_Colorado Colorado (2019)
REPRISE / ROCK
NEIL-YOUNG_The-monsanto-years The Monsanto Years (2015)
REPRISE / ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / NEIL YOUNG: Colorado
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

NEIL YOUNG

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
COLORADO
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
REPRISE
GENRE:
ROCK
"Sans être un must de la discographie pléthorique du Canadien, "Colorado" n'en reste pas moins un disque accrocheur qui ravira tous ceux à qui Neil Young et Crazy Horse avaient manqué."
DARIALYS - 15.11.2019 -
On ne le présente plus. A 74 ans, Neil Young est une légende de la scène folk-rock canadienne. Et pour cause, l’artiste affiche un palmarès record : une quarantaine d’albums studio et une dizaine d’albums live. Douze ans après sa dernière galette avec son groupe emblématique, Crazy Horse, le rocker est de retour avec eux pour un nouvel album baptisé "Colorado".

Du temps a passé, mais que les aficionados se rassurent : la patte du musicien est indéniablement bien présente. Il ne faudra que quelques secondes au premier titre, ‘Think Of Me’, pour que l’on se retrouve immédiatement plongé dans le son de Neil Young. Entêtant, accrocheur, fort d’une ambiance country bien en place, porté par une guitare acoustique et des solos d’harmonica, toutes les composantes habituelles sont réunies avec ce morceau simple et efficace.

Le Canadien, bien que septuagénaire, n’a pas perdu son esprit rock’n’roll comme en témoignent les morceaux les plus énergiques comme ‘Shut It Down’ et sa guitare électrique au son crasseux bien habituel et ‘Help Me Lose My Mind’, qui bien que plus lent, conserve une certaine puissance. ‘She Showed Me Love’ comporte aussi quelques idées intéressantes et n'est pas sans rappeler le classique ‘Down By The River’, bien que les 13 minutes du morceau auraient pu (dû ?) être divisées par deux. Le guitariste sait aussi calmer le jeu, et comme à l’accoutumée, les ballades sont en nombre.Green Is Blue’ et ‘Milky Way’ apportent un peu de répit tandis que ‘Olden Days’ s’inscrit dans un registre plus rock.

Alors certes, on n’y retrouvera pas la petite étincelle qui faisait vibrer le public comme sur les vieux albums du musicien. Il manquera à l’auditeur ces accroches qui rendaient certains titres de l’époque cultes. A l’ère des productions irréprochables et tendant toujours plus vers la perfection, Neil Young est resté ancré dans les années 70/80. Les guitares crasseuses sont toujours légion et on trouve même quelques fausses notes de chant sur ‘Rainbow Of Colors’ et ‘Milky Way’ qui ont de quoi faire tiquer l’auditeur. Mais qu’importe, la signature du guitariste est bel est bien présente, et c’est peut-être même cette touche d’imperfection qui rend les compositions du bonhomme aussi vivantes et authentiques.

L’album a beau ne pas être un must de la discographie pléthorique du Canadien, on ne peut que saluer son initiative de sortir un nouvel énième album à son âge avancé, alors que de nombreuses figures musicales emblématiques au parcours similaire ne s’y risquent plus depuis de nombreuses années. "Colorado" reste un album efficace qui ravira tous ceux à qui Neil Young et Crazy Horse avaient manqué.

Plus d'information sur http://neilyoung.com/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
THE ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND, BOB DYLAN, CROSBY, STILL & NASH, BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Think Of Me - 3:02
02. She Showed Me Love - 13:36
03. Olden Days - 4:04
04. Help Me Lose My Mind - 4:14
05. Green Is Blue - 3:48
06. Shut It Down - 3:44
07. Milky Way - 5:59
08. Eternity - 2:43
09. Rainbow Of Colors - 3:35
10. I Do - 5:36


FORMATION:
Billy Talbot: Basse
Neil Young: Chant / Guitares / Claviers / Harmonica
Nils Lofgren: Guitares / Claviers / Piano
Ralph Molina: Batterie


TAGS:
Bluesy, Folk, Old School
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
productionuser_idproduction_comment_idproduction_review_id

LOLO_THE_BEST59 - 30/11/2019 00:34:14
Un album bien décevant, où quelques beaux soli rattrapent la voix fatiguée de Neil Young.
9075 24071

CORTO1809 - 15/11/2019 19:27:11
Un album de plus dans la discographie de Neil Young, bien fade, qui n'apporte rien à sa carrière. Mieux vaut se remettre sur sa platine "Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere" ou "After The Gold Rush".
1847 24024
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC NEIL YOUNG
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
NEIL YOUNG en tournée
CONCERT

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant NEIL YOUNG
 
NOTES
 
2.7/5 (3 avis)
2.5/5 (2 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT NEIL YOUNG
 
NEIL-YOUNG_Colorado Colorado (2019)
REPRISE / ROCK
NEIL-YOUNG_The-monsanto-years The Monsanto Years (2015)
REPRISE / ROCK
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019