MW / Home / Reviews / EDGE OF PARADISE: Universe
BAND/AUTHOR:

EDGE OF PARADISE

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
UNIVERSE
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
FRONTIERS RECORDS
GENRE:
MELODIC METAL
"Edge Of Paradise is still looking for itself in this "Universe", efficiently structured but not fully accomplished, to which we prefer their elder "Immortal Waltz"..."
CHILDERIC THOR - 03.01.2020 -
If it would be an exaggeration to claim that Edge Of Paradise was missing - notwithstanding the vague and nice memory left by "Immortal Waltz", its second vintage released in 2015 -, it's nevertheless with a certain pleasure that we look back four years later on this "Universe" which seals the alliance between Frontiers Records and Californians. 

Why such a benevolence for a band that is anecdotal and a bit lazy? The reason essentially comes down to the one who founded it, the singer Margarita Monet, whose voice is both powerful and cuddly and her beauty doesn't leave indifferent. Without her, we would hardly be interested in the band, especially as its identity remains difficult to define, as it seems to change from one album to the next. Progressive on "Mask" (2011), more traditional on "Immortal Waltz", its melodic metal shows this time an even different face, more modern, even sometimes electro ('Perfect Disaster'). 

If the production prepared by Mike Plotnikoff (Halestorm) and completed by the mix of the master Jacob Hansen (CyHra, Aborted...) covers it with a clear and fearsome fuselage, the ideal case of a metal anchored in its time, "Universe" lacks cohesion, hesitating between a resolutely contemporary score full of electro touches ('Hollow', 'Electrify') and melodic flights with almost symphonic colours (the finale of 'Burn The Sun').  At the end, the whole proves to be pleasant but clumsy, leaving a strange taste in the mouth, just like this 'World', a curious, almost unhealthy pause, where the beautiful girl whispers like a little girl on a stormy background. 

But it's again Margarita's performance that catches the attention more than the compositions. Let's mention 'Fire', a catchy primer that multiplies the sensual kidney strokes. 'Face Of Fear', covered in dark stockings and with a sometimes threatening voice, also deserves to be mentioned, as well as 'Alone' on which the shadow of Evanescence hovers, while 'Stars' traces a pleasant path which, once again, owes a lot to the lascivious vocal lines of the mistress of the place, who is nevertheless supported by sharp musicians. 

In the end, "Universe" would have benefited from not sounding too modern. Edge Of Paradise is still looking for itself.  Let's hope that they haven't found their style with this third album, efficiently structured if not accomplished, to which we prefer their elder "Immortal Waltz"...

More informations on http://www.edgeofparadiseband.com/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

QUEENSRŸCHE, CRIMSON GLORY

TRACK LISTING

01. Fire - 4:05
02. Electrify - 3:00
03. Universe - 4:03
04. Alone - 3:58
05. Hollow - 3:16
06. World - 3:31
07. Perfect Disaster - 3:20
08. Face of Fear - 4:03
09. Stars - 3:38
10. Burn the Sun - 3:12


LINEUP

Dave Bates: Guitares
David Ruiz: Guitares
Jimmy Lee: Batterie
Margarita Monet: Chant
Vanya Kapetanovic: Basse


TAGS:
Female voice
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS EDGE OF PARADISE
LAST NEWS
EDGE OF PARADISE: Universe
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about EDGE OF PARADISE
 
RATING
 
2.3/5 (3 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS EDGE OF PARADISE
 
EDGE-OF-PARADISE_Universe Universe (2019)
FRONTIERS RECORDS / MELODIC METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

GROUPE/AUTEUR:

EDGE OF PARADISE

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
UNIVERSE (2019)
LABEL:
FRONTIERS RECORDS
GENRE:
METAL MELODIQUE

"Edge Of Paradise se cherche encore avec ce troisième album dont l'efficacité ne masque pas le manque de cohésion, écrin d'un metal désireux d'être moderne et mélodique à la fois."
CHILDERIC THOR - 03.01.2020 - (0) Avis des lecteurs - (0) commentaire(s)
2/5
S'il serait exagéré de prétendre que Edge Of Paradise nous manquait - nonobstant le souvenir aussi vague que sympathique laissé par "Immortal Waltz", sa deuxième cuvée publiée en 2015- , c'est néanmoins avec un plaisir certain que nous nous penchons quatre ans plus tard sur ce "Universe" qui scelle l'alliance entre Frontiers Records et les Californiens.

Pourquoi une telle bienveillance pour un groupe somme toute anecdotique et un peu paresseux ? La raison se résume essentiellement à celle qui l'a fondé, la chanteuse Margarita Monet dont la voix à la fois puissante et câline se suce comme une sucrerie tandis que sa beauté ne peut laisser de marbre. Gageons que sans elle, la formation ne nous intéresserait guère, d'autant plus que son identité reste difficile à cerner tant elle paraît vouloir en changer d'un album à l'autre. Progressif sur "Mask" (2011), plus traditionnel sur "Immortal Waltz", son metal mélodique affiche cette fois-ci un visage encore différent, plus moderne, voire parfois electro ('Perfect Disaster'). Pour quel résultat ?

Si la production mijotée par Mike Plotnikoff (Halestorm) que complète le mixage du maître Jacob Hansen (CyHra, Aborted...) le recouvre d'un fuselage clair et redoutable, écrin idéal d'un metal ancré dans son temps, "Universe" manque cependant de cohésion, hésitant entre une partition résolument contemporaine enkystée de verrues électro ('Hollow', 'Electrify') et des envolées mélodiques aux couleurs presque symphoniques (le final de 'Burn The Sun').  A l'arrivée, l'ensemble se révèle plaisant mais maladroit, laissant un goût bizarre dans la bouche à l'image de ce 'World', pause curieuse, presque malsaine, où la belle murmure à la manière d'une petite fille sur un fond orageux.

Reste que c'est à nouveau la performance de Margarita qui accroche la mémoire, plus que ces compos dont seule une petite poignée retient réellement l'attention. Citons 'Fire', amorce accrocheuse qui multiplie les sensuels coups de reins. 'Face Of Fear', gainé de sombres bas et d'une voix parfois menaçante, mérite également d'être évoqué, de même que 'Alone' sur lequel plane l'ombre d'Evanescence cependant que 'Stars' trace un chemin agréable qui doit, encore une fois, beaucoup aux lignes vocales lascives de la maîtresse des lieux qu'épaulent néanmoins des musiciens affûtés.

Au final, "Universe" aurait gagné à bâillonner ses velléités modernes qui, si elles lui confèrent sa personnalité, ôtent une partie du charme que Margarita Monet suffit à lui insuffler. Groupe à tout le moins sympathique, Edge Of Paradise se cherche encore. Espérons qu'il n'ait pas trouvé son style avec ce troisième album efficacement charpenté à défaut d'être abouti auquel on préfère son aîné "Immortal Waltz"...

Plus d'information sur http://www.edgeofparadiseband.com/



GROUPES PROCHES:
CRIMSON GLORY, QUEENSRŸCHE

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Fire - 4:05
02. Electrify - 3:00
03. Universe - 4:03
04. Alone - 3:58
05. Hollow - 3:16
06. World - 3:31
07. Perfect Disaster - 3:20
08. Face of Fear - 4:03
09. Stars - 3:38
10. Burn the Sun - 3:12


FORMATION:
Dave Bates: Guitares
David Ruiz: Guitares
Jimmy Lee: Batterie
Margarita Monet: Chant
Vanya Kapetanovic: Basse


TAGS:
Chant féminin
 
 
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Haut de page
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
Aucun commentaire. Soyez le premier à donner votre avis sur cette chronique ou sur cette production
Haut de page
EN RELATION AVEC EDGE OF PARADISE
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
EDGE OF PARADISE: Nouvel album en novembre
Toutes les actualités sur EDGE OF PARADISE
NOTES
- /5 (0 avis) 2.3/5 (3 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
CHRONIQUE PRECEDENTE
SONS OF APOLLO: Mmxx (2020)
METAL PROGRESSIF Plus heavy que progressif, ce "MMXX" sans audace ni nuance n’emballera pas les amateurs du premier album.
 
CHRONIQUE SUIVANTE
APOCALYPTICA: Cell-0 (2020)
METAL MELODIQUE Apocalyptica opte pour un retour aux sources avec un album instrumental centré autour de quatre violoncelles tantôt ravageurs, tantôt sublimes, mais toujours excellents.
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT EDGE OF PARADISE
EDGE-OF-PARADISE_Immortal-Waltz
Immortal Waltz (2015)
3/5
-/5
PURE STEEL RECORDS / METAL MELODIQUE
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020