MW / Home / Reviews / WAYWARD SONS: The Truth Ain't What It Used To Be
BAND/AUTHOR:

WAYWARD SONS

(UNITED KINGDOM)

TITLE:
THE TRUTH AIN'T WHAT IT USED TO BE
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
FRONTIERS RECORDS
GENRE:
HARD ROCK
"Strongly inspired by the music of "Queen", "The Truth Ain't What It Used To Be" offers an impeccable menu to which it is very difficult to find weaknesses."
CHILDERIC THOR - 08.01.2020 -
While the biopic "Bohemian Rhapsody" illustrated that Queen's legacy lives on even 28 years after Freddie Mercuy's death, Wayward Sons comes at the right time to remind us that (hard) British rock, classy and racy, still has things to offer. And some good ones.

English so, the band still has a modest aura. Yet, signed by Frontiers Records, the quintet is not composed of complete strangers, notably Toby Jepson, whose older among you will undoubtedly remember his band, Little Angels, which was a great success in the 90s. Later associated with Fastway or Gun and then producer, notably of Saxon ("Call To Arms"), he launched in 2017 this Wayward Sons which is completed by guitarist Sam Wood, bassist Nic Wastell, drummer Phil Martini and keyboardist Dave Kemp. 

The previous album, "Ghosts Of Yet To Come", was well received by the lovers of old-fashioned rock whose anachronism doesn't however exonerate it from a devastating energy. The latter won't be disappointed by "The Truth Ain't What It Used To Be", the second throw of God's fire. With its elegance combined with a sharp power, the work sees Queen's bite imprinted in its flesh, especially for its guitar parts covered by Brian May's shadow ('Little White Lies'). And when these are coupled with a piano ('Joke's On You'), the mimicry is obvious.  Of course, Jepson isn't Mercury and doesn't try to be anyway, but his warm voice ideally moulds these chiselled compositions like a gleaming goldsmith's work ('Us Against The World'). 

However, reducing Wayward Sons to a clone of "Queen" would be as unfair as it would be reductive. Certainly, very influenced by the hard rock of the 80s and 90s (Bon Jovi is sometimes not far away either), the band exists by itself thanks to the strength of songs with melodic qualities as seductive as undeniable like the opening track 'Any Other Way'. The stirring 'As Black As Sin', 'Have It Your Own Way' and its strong curves, the feline 'Punchline' give the English a catchy and cheeky face, while the poignant 'Fade Away' softens the message with a nice performance by Toby. 

Solidly built, "The Truth Ain't What It Used To Be" offers an impeccable menu to which it is very difficult to find weaknesses, even though it will obviously not meet the success it should have...

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/waywardsonsbanduk/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

QUEEN, BON JOVI

TRACK LISTING

01. Any Other Way - 3:23
02. As Black As Sin - 2:42
03. Joke's on You - 3:57
04. Little White Lies - 4:19
05. Feel Good Hit - 3:33
06. Fade Away - 4:12
07. Have It Your Own Way - 3:40
08. Long Line of Pretenders - 3:35
09. (If Only) God Was Real - 3:20
10. The Truth Ain't What It Used to Be - 3:31
11. Punchline - 3:30
12. Us Against the World - 4:11
13. Totally Screwed (Hidden Track) - 3:51


LINEUP

Dave Kemp: Claviers
Nic Wastell: Basse
Phil Martini : Batterie
Sam Wood: Guitares
Toby Jepson: Chant / Guitares


TAGS:
70's, 80's, Old School
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS WAYWARD SONS
 
RATING
 
3.5/5 (2 view(s))
3/5 (1 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS WAYWARD SONS
 
WAYWARD-SONS_The-Truth-Ain-t-What-It-Used-To-Be The Truth Ain't What It Used To Be (2019)
FRONTIERS RECORDS / HARD ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / WAYWARD SONS: The Truth Ain't What It Used To Be
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

WAYWARD SONS

(ROYAUME UNI)

TITRE:
THE TRUTH AIN'T WHAT IT USED TO BE
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
FRONTIERS RECORDS
GENRE:
HARD ROCK
"Fortement inspiré par "Queen", "The Truth Ain't What It Used To Be" soumet un menu impeccable dans la belle tradition d'un (hard) rock élégant et accrocheur."
CHILDERIC THOR - 08.01.2020 -
Alors que le biopic "Bohemian Rhapsody" a illustré que l'héritage de Queen demeure toujours aussi vivace même 28 ans après la mort de Freddie Mercuy, Wayward Sons tombe à pic pour nous rappeler que le (hard) rock british, classieux et racé, a encore des choses à proposer. Et des bonnes.

Anglais donc, le groupe bénéficie encore d'une aura modeste. Pourtant, signé chez Frontiers Records, le quintet n'est pas composé de parfaits inconnus puisque sa barre est fermement tenue par le chanteur Toby Jepson dont les plus vieux d'entre vous se rappelleront sans doute sa formation, Little Angels, qui rencontra un  beau succès dans les années 90. Plus tard associé à Fastway ou Gun puis producteur, de Saxon notamment ("Call To Arms"), il lance en 2017 ce Wayward Sons que complètent le guitariste Sam Wood, le bassiste Nic Wastell, le batteur Phil Martini et le claviériste Dave Kemp.

L'originel "Ghosts Of Yet To Come" est bien reçu par les amoureux d'un rock à l'ancienne dont l'anachronisme ne l'exonère cependant pas d'une énergie ravageuse. Ces derniers ne seront pas déçus par "The Truth Ain't What It Used To Be", second jet du feu de dieu. De par son élégance conjuguée à une puissance acérée, l'œuvre voit la morsure de Queen imprimée dans sa chair, surtout pour ses parties de guitares que recouvre l'ombre de Brian May ('Little White Lies'). Et quand celles-ci s'accouplent à un piano ('Joke's On You'), le mimétisme est évident.  Bien sûr, Jepson n'est pas Mercury et ne cherche de toutes façons pas à l'être mais son organe chaleureux moule idéalement ces compositions ciselées comme une rutilante orfèvrerie ('Us Against The World').

Pour autant, réduire Wayward Sons à un simple clone de la Reine serait aussi injuste que réducteur. Certes, très influencé par le hard rock des années 80 et 90 (Bon Jovi n'est parfois pas loin non plus), le groupe existe par lui-même grâce à la force de chansons aux qualités mélodiques aussi séduisantes qu'indéniables, toujours puissamment aguichantes, à l'image de l'amorce 'Any Other Way'. Le remuant 'As Black As Sin', Have It Your Own Way' et ses courbes appuyées, le félin 'Punchline' offrent ainsi des Anglais un visage accrocheur et bougrement efficace tandis que le poignant 'Fade Away' adoucit le propos avec une belle performance de Toby.

Solidement charpenté, "The Truth Ain't What It Used To Be" soumet un menu impeccable auquel il est bien difficile de trouver des faiblesses alors même qu'il ne rencontrera évidemment pas le succès qui devrait lui être assuré...

Plus d'information sur https://www.facebook.com/waywardsonsbanduk/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
QUEEN, BON JOVI

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Any Other Way - 3:23
02. As Black As Sin - 2:42
03. Joke's on You - 3:57
04. Little White Lies - 4:19
05. Feel Good Hit - 3:33
06. Fade Away - 4:12
07. Have It Your Own Way - 3:40
08. Long Line of Pretenders - 3:35
09. (If Only) God Was Real - 3:20
10. The Truth Ain't What It Used to Be - 3:31
11. Punchline - 3:30
12. Us Against the World - 4:11
13. Totally Screwed (Hidden Track) - 3:51


FORMATION:
Dave Kemp: Claviers
Nic Wastell: Basse
Phil Martini : Batterie
Sam Wood: Guitares
Toby Jepson: Chant / Guitares


TAGS:
70's, 80's, Old School
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC WAYWARD SONS
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
WAYWARD SONS: Ghosts Of Yet To Come
SORTIE

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant WAYWARD SONS
 
NOTES
 
3.5/5 (2 avis)
3/5 (1 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT WAYWARD SONS
 
WAYWARD-SONS_The-Truth-Ain-t-What-It-Used-To-Be The Truth Ain't What It Used To Be (2019)
FRONTIERS RECORDS / HARD ROCK
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020