MW / Home / Reviews / APOCALYPTICA: Cell-0
BAND/AUTHOR:

APOCALYPTICA

(FINLAND)

TITLE:
CELL-0
RELEASE DATE:
2020
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
MELODIC METAL
"Apocalyptica opts for a return to their roots with an instrumental album centred around four cellos, sometimes devastating, sometimes sublime, but always excellent."
DARIALYS - 03.01.2020 -
Twenty-three years ago, the metal community discovered, not without surprise, a new band that had become cult: Apocalyptica. Four young Finns released an album of Metallica standards... on cello, and in an instrumental way! The album was intriguing and the quartet soon became famous. Twenty years later, in order to pay tribute to their debut, the musicians decided to go on tour to bring this first album back to the forefront. Since then, the foursome have always used vocals to enhance their compositions, but the return to a more minimalist format, with four cellos and nothing more, particularly appealed to them.

In 2020, the Scandinavians were back with a new album, "Cell-0". As its name suggests, the cello once again becomes the major instrument declined throughout the album, to the detriment of vocal, which totally disappears. This change being, to say the least, risky in a music industry which demands short, catchy and immediate formats, the band took the courageous decision to self-produce this album, in order not to be disturbed by the slightest outside opinion which could take them away from their purpose.

A risky gamble, but a successful one. Apocalyptica, even in a smaller format, still benefits from an excellent production and in its DNA, there is always an obvious metal influence. On 'En Route To Mayhem', after a mysterious beginning which is getting stronger and stronger, we quickly get to the heart of the song with an extremely sustained and powerful rhythm. Maybe we're not far from using the shred at times with ultra fast, overexcited and brilliant cello phrasing.

'Ashes Of The Modern World' is also part of a metal dynamic, but heavier, darker, with a light and airy touch. The perfectly written track has a cinematic side that we can find on the sumptuous 'Fire & Ice' on which Apocalyptica likes to mix the ambiences. On the beginning of the track, it seems to travel to faraway lands, while the unleashed finale tends towards melodic/symphonic progressive metal. A symphonic metal also present on the eponymous track, 'Cell-0', which along its ten minutes, does not impose any limit in its experiments.

Always in this perspective of diversification of the atmospheres, one will note the presence of the relaxing 'Rise'. The single chosen by the band to highlight their album gives the impression of floating above a frozen lake and flying in the middle of a Norwegian fir forest in a winter landscape.

If you doubted it, Apocalyptica can do everything, play everything. And over almost an hour of music, not only is the absence of vocal not felt, but the perfect and richly subtle execution of the musicians prevents the listener from losing interest. "Cell-0" nevertheless requires a certain amount of listening so that its diversity can be fully digested and appreciated to its true value. Five years after "Shadowmaker", Apocalyptica strikes a big blow with an album of great sensitivity, and it would be a shame to miss it!

More informations on http://www.apocalyptica.com/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

METALLICA, RAMMSTEIN, SLAYER, TARJA, FLESHGOD APOCALYPSE, EKLIPSE, THE RASMUS

TRACK LISTING

01. Ashes Of The Modern World
02. Cell-0
03. Rise
04. En Route To Mayhem
05. Call My Name
06. Fire & Ice
07. Scream For The Silent
08. Catharsis
09. Beyond The Stars


LINEUP

Eicca Toppinen: Violoncelle
Mikko Siren: Batterie
Paavo Lotjonen: Violoncelle
Perttu Kivilaakso: Violoncelle


TAGS:
Chaotic, ?, Epic, Instrumental, Heavy, Melancholic, Classical Music, Smoothing, Dark, Symphonic
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS APOCALYPTICA
LAST NEWS
APOCALYPTICA on tour with EPICA at the end of the year
GIG

Read the news
View all news about APOCALYPTICA
 
LAST ARTICLE
One of the leader of the classical melodic metal scene, Apocalyptica is back to its first love with a purely instrumental album presented by Perttu Kivilaakso for Music Waves.

Read the article
View all articles about APOCALYPTICA
 
RATING
 
4.5/5 (2 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS APOCALYPTICA
 
APOCALYPTICA_Cell-0 Cell-0 (2020)
AUTRE LABEL / MELODIC METAL
APOCALYPTICA_Shadowmaker Shadowmaker (2015)
ELEVEN SEVEN MUSIC / MELODIC METAL
APOCALYPTICA_7th-Symphony 7th Symphony (2010)
SONY BMG / MELODIC METAL
APOCALYPTICA_Worlds-Collide Worlds Collide (2007)
SONY BMG / MELODIC METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / APOCALYPTICA: Cell-0
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

APOCALYPTICA

(FINLANDE)

TITRE:
CELL-0
ANNEE PARUTION:
2020
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
METAL MELODIQUE
"Apocalyptica opte pour un retour aux sources avec un album instrumental centré autour de quatre violoncelles tantôt ravageurs, tantôt sublimes, mais toujours excellents."
DARIALYS - 03.01.2020 -
Il y a 23 ans, la communauté metal découvrait non sans surprise un nouveau groupe devenu désormais culte : Apocalyptica. Quatre jeunes Finlandais sortent alors un album reprenant des standards de Metallica… au violoncelle, et de manière instrumentale ! L'album intrigue et très vite, le quatuor fait parler de lui. Vingt ans plus tard, afin de rendre hommage à leurs débuts, les musiciens décident de partir en tournée pour remettre ce premier album au goût du jour. Si les quatre compères ont depuis cet opus toujours eu recours au chant pour agrémenter leurs compositions, le retour à un format plus minimaliste, quatre violoncelles et rien de plus, les séduit particulièrement.

C'est ainsi qu'en 2020, les Scandinaves sont de retour avec un nouvel album, "Cell-0". Comme son nom l'indique, le violoncelle redevient l'instrument majeur décliné tout au long du disque, au détriment du chant qui s'éclipse totalement. Ce changement étant pour le moins risqué dans une industrie musicale qui exige des formats courts, accrocheurs et immédiats, le groupe a pris la courageuse décision d’auto-produire cet album, afin de ne pas être perturbé par le moindre avis extérieur qui pourrait les éloigner de leur objectif.

Pari risqué donc, mais pari réussi. Apocalyptica, même sous un format plus réduit, bénéficie malgré tout d'une excellente production et dans son ADN, il figure toujours une influence metal évidente. Sur 'En Route To Mayhem', après un début mystérieux qui monte en puissance, on arrive assez rapidement dans le cœur du morceau avec une rythmique extrêmement soutenue et d'une grande puissance. Peut-être n'est-on d'ailleurs pas loin d'utiliser le shred par moments avec des phrasés de violoncelle ultra rapides, surexcités et brillants.

'Ashes Of The Modern World' s'inscrit lui aussi dans une dynamique metal, mais plus lourde, plus sombre, avec une touche assez aérienne et légère malgré tout. Le morceau parfaitement écrit a un côté cinématographique que l'on retrouve sur le somptueux 'Fire & Ice' sur lequel Apocalyptica se plaît à mélanger les ambiances. Sur le début du titre, on croirait voyager dans des contrées lointaines, tandis que le final déchaîné tend vers le metal progressif mélodique/symphonique. Un metal symphonique également présent sur le titre éponyme, 'Cell-0', qui du long de ses dix minutes, ne s'impose aucune limite dans ses expérimentations.

Toujours dans cette optique de diversification des ambiances, on notera la présence du relaxant 'Rise'. Le single choisi par le groupe pour mettre son album en avant donne l'impression de flotter au-dessus d'un lac gelé et de voler au milieu d'une forêt de sapins norvégienne dans un paysage hivernal.

Si vous en doutiez, Apocalyptica sait tout faire, tout jouer. Et sur près d'une heure de musique, non seulement l'absence de chant ne se fait pas ressentir, mais en plus, l'exécution parfaite et riche en subtilité des musiciens empêche l'auditeur de décrocher. "Cell-0" demande tout de même un certain nombre d'écoutes pour que sa diversité soit pleinement digérée et qu'il puisse être apprécié à sa juste valeur. Cinq ans après "Shadowmaker", Apocalyptica frappe un grand coup avec un album d'une grande sensibilité, et cela serait dommage de passer à côté !

Plus d'information sur http://www.apocalyptica.com/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
METALLICA, RAMMSTEIN, SLAYER, TARJA, FLESHGOD APOCALYPSE, EKLIPSE, THE RASMUS

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Ashes Of The Modern World
02. Cell-0
03. Rise
04. En Route To Mayhem
05. Call My Name
06. Fire & Ice
07. Scream For The Silent
08. Catharsis
09. Beyond The Stars


FORMATION:
Eicca Toppinen: Violoncelle
Mikko Siren: Batterie
Paavo Lotjonen: Violoncelle
Perttu Kivilaakso: Violoncelle


TAGS:
Chaotique, Dépaysant, Epique, Instrumental, Lourde, Mélancolique, Musique Classique, Planant, Sombre, Symphonique
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC APOCALYPTICA
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
APOCALYPTICA RETOURNE AUX SOURCES SUR MUSIC WAVES
INTERVIEW

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant APOCALYPTICA
 
DERNIER ARTICLE
Cador de la scène metal mélodique classique, Apocalyptica est revenu à ses premiers amours avec un album purement instrumental présenté par Perttu Kivilaakso pour Music Waves

Lire l'article
Voir tous les articles concernant APOCALYPTICA
 
NOTES
 
4.5/5 (2 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT APOCALYPTICA
 
APOCALYPTICA_Cell-0 Cell-0 (2020)
AUTRE LABEL / METAL MELODIQUE
APOCALYPTICA_Shadowmaker Shadowmaker (2015)
ELEVEN SEVEN MUSIC / METAL MELODIQUE
APOCALYPTICA_Wagner-Reloaded-Live-In-Leipzig Wagner Reloaded: Live In Leipzig (2013)
SONY BMG / HEAVY METAL
APOCALYPTICA_7th-Symphony 7th Symphony (2010)
SONY BMG / METAL MELODIQUE
APOCALYPTICA_Worlds-Collide Worlds Collide (2007)
SONY BMG / METAL MELODIQUE
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020