BAND/AUTHOR:

OZZY OSBOURNE

(UNITED KINGDOM)

TITLE:
ORDINARY MAN (2020)
LABEL:
EPIC
GENRE:
HEAVY METAL

"If "Ordinary Man" is to be the last act of a sacred heavy metal monster, it will be seen as a very honorable act."
NOISE - 27.02.2020 - (0) minds from our readers - (1) comment(s)
4/5
Separating the work from its author(s) should be the motto when dealing with a review. But this is not simple, and with Ozzy Osbourne it's tricky. The madman continues his road and comes back with an eleventh album, "Ordinary Man". The context around this album is particular. Ozzy has health concerns and one can wonder if he still has a hold on his career. He is surrounded by a team that has organised everything around Post Malone and the producer and guitarist Andrew Watt.

The first feeling is that the label and this team understood that the machine was still profitable and that in the studio it was easy to make miracles. Because it is permissible to wonder about Ozzy's vocals, probably boosted in the studio, even this is not embarrassing and doesn't handicap the tracks.

Well surrounded, Ozzy transcends himself and signs some heavy tracks of well done quality. 'Straight To Hell' and 'Under The Graveyard' are efficient with neat choruses, Ozzy's classic nervous and hoarse vocals, unstoppable melodies and above all well crafted guitar parts. Watt is on the level and on the first track Slash brings his touch with talent. With nice nods to Black Sabbath, 'Goodbye' and 'Eat Me' are excellent, with a heavy and dark side and good fast passages with soli well packed up in the spirit of Tony Iommi. With these tracks alone, the album justifies its listening. 

'All My Life' is in the vein of 'No More Tears' with melancholy, bass and the vocals of a nuanced Ozzy. As a duet with Elton John, 'Ordinary Man' is a touching ballad with piano sung by two monsters in the twilight of their career. But there are weaknesses. The sequence between 'Today Is The End', 'Scary Little Green Man' and 'Holy For Tonigh' is hardly convincing. It lacks rhythm with just a chorus here or a solo there that catches the eye. And there's a big mistake with 'Take Me What You Want', sung with Post Malone and Travis Scott, which is tinted rap r'n'b with unbearable effects.

If "Ordinary Man" is to be the last act of a sacred heavy metal monster, it will be seen as a very honorable act. There is certainly here and there an obvious commercial aftertaste, but to find Ozzy Osbourne at this level is a small miracle that pleases.

More informations on http://www.ozzy.com/



SIMILAR BANDS:
LORDI, RIPPER, W.A.S.P., BLACK LABEL SOCIETY, HELLFUELED, BLACK SABBATH, QUIET RIOT

TRACK LISTING:
01. Straight To Hell
02. All My Life
03. Goodbye
04. Ordinary Man
05. Under The Graveyard
06. Eat Me
07. Today Is The End
08. Scary Little Green Men
09. Holy For Tonight
10. It's A Raid
11. Take What You Want


LINEUP:
Andrew Watt: Guitares
Chad Smith: Batterie
Duff McKagan: Basse
Ozzy Osbourne: Chant
Elton John: Chant / Invité / Piano
Post Malone: Chant / Invité
Slash: Guitares / Invité
Tom Morello: Guitares / Invité
Travis Scott: Chant / Invité


TAGS:
Easy Listening / FM, Intimist, Melancholic, Rasping voice
 
 
(0) MIND(S) FROM OUR READERS
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Top of the page
(1) COMMENT(S)
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
TORPEDO - 27/02/2020 10:07:02
0
Certainement pas un album pour les fans d'ozzy mais pour ceux qui aiment le metal très edulcoré et facile d'accès, cet "ordinary man" est assez agréable.
Top of the page
IN RELATION WITH OZZY OSBOURNE
LAST NEWS
OZZY OSBOURNE: Ordinary Man
All news about OZZY OSBOURNE
RATING
- /5 (0 view(s)) 3.6/5 (5 view(s))
MY RATE:
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
PREVIOUS REVIEW
MARKO HIETALA: Pyre Of The Black Heart (2020)
MELODIC METAL In spite of a writing spread over twenty years "Pyre Of The Black Heart" plunges us into Marko Hietala's universe through introspective, very personal and emotional tracks. Immediate pleasure guaranteed.
 
NEXT REVIEW
SONNY LANDRETH: Blacktop Run (2020)
BLUES Varied and captivating, "Blacktop Run" reinforces Sonny Landreth's status as a master of the blues-cajun and a Louisiana icon.
STREAMING
 
 
OTHER(S) REVIEWS ABOUT OZZY OSBOURNE
OZZY-OSBOURNE_Scream
Scream (2010)
4/5
-/5
SONY BMG / HEAVY METAL
OZZY-OSBOURNE_Black-Rain
Black Rain (2007)
2/5
-/5
EPIC / HEAVY METAL
OZZY-OSBOURNE_Down-To-Earth
Down To Earth (2001)
3/5
-/5
EPIC / HEAVY METAL
OZZY-OSBOURNE_Ozzmosis
Ozzmosis (1995)
4/5
3/5
EPIC / HEAVY METAL
OZZY-OSBOURNE_No-More-Tears
No More Tears (1991)
5/5
5/5
EPIC / HEAVY METAL
 
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

GROUPE/AUTEUR:

OZZY OSBOURNE

(ROYAUME UNI)

TITRE:
ORDINARY MAN (2020)
LABEL:
EPIC
GENRE:
HEAVY METAL

"Ozzy est de retour en solo et montre au détour de quelques titres bien costauds qu'il en a encore sous la pédale. Il s'y ajoute une certaine mélancolie très touchante en forme de bilan d'une riche carrière."
NOISE - 27.02.2020 - (0) Avis des lecteurs - (1) commentaire(s)
4/5
Séparer l’œuvre de son ou ses auteurs, telle devrait être la devise quand on s’attèle à une critique. Mais cela n’est pas simple, et avec Ozzy Osbourne c’est délicat. Le madman continue sa route et revient avec un onzième album, "Ordinary Man". Le contexte autour de cet album est particulier. Ozzy a des soucis de santé et il est permis de se demander s’il a encore prise sur sa carrière. Il est entouré d’une équipe qui a tout organisé autour de Post Malone et du producteur et guitariste Andrew Watt.

Le premier sentiment est de se dire que le label et cette équipe ont compris que la machine était encore rentable et qu’en studio il était facile de faire des miracles. Cela étant on ne peut, eu égard à la carrière d’Ozzy, jeter le bébé avec l’eau du bain sans lui donner une chance. Certes il est permis de se poser des questions sur le chant d’Ozzy sans doute boosté en studio mais cela n’est pas gênant et n’handicape pas les titres.

Bien entouré, Ozzy se transcende et signe des titres heavy de qualité bien ficelés. ‘Straight To Hell’ et ‘Under The Graveyard’ sont efficaces avec des refrains soignés, le chant nerveux et éraillé classique d’Ozzy, des mélodies imparables et surtout des parties de guitares bien foutues. Watt est au niveau et, sur le premier titre, Slash amène sa touche avec talent. Avec des jolis clins d’œil à Black Sabbath , ‘Goodbye’ et ‘Eat Me’ sont excellents, avec un côté lourd et sombre et des bons passages rapides avec des soli bien troussés dans l’esprit de Tony Iommi.

Rien qu’avec ces titres, l’album justifie son acquisition. A côté il y a boire et à manger avec des ballades et des titres avec invités. ‘All My Life’ est dans la lignée de ‘No More Tears’ avec de la mélancolie, la basse mise en avant et le chant à fleur de peau d’un Ozzy tout en nuances. En duo avec Elton John, ‘Ordinary Man’ est une ballade touchante avec piano bien chantée par deux monstres au crépuscule de leur carrière. Mais il y a des faiblesses. L'enchaînement entre ‘Today Is The End’, ‘Scary Little Green Man’ et ‘Holy For Tonigh’ peine à convaincre. Cela manque de rythme avec juste un refrain par-ci ou un solo par-là éveillant l’attention. Il  y a un couac avec ‘Take Me What You Want’. Chanté avec Post Malone et Travis Scott, le titre est teinté rap r’n’b avec des effets insupportables.

Si "Ordinary Man" doit être le dernier acte d’un monstre sacré du heavy metal, il sera à voir comme un acte tout à fait honorable. Il y a certes ici et là un arrière-goût commercial évident mais retrouver Ozzy Osbourne à ce niveau est un petit miracle qui fait plaisir.

Plus d'information sur http://www.ozzy.com/



GROUPES PROCHES:
BLACK LABEL SOCIETY, HELLFUELED, W.A.S.P., RIPPER, BLACK SABBATH, LORDI, QUIET RIOT

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Straight To Hell
02. All My Life
03. Goodbye
04. Ordinary Man
05. Under The Graveyard
06. Eat Me
07. Today Is The End
08. Scary Little Green Men
09. Holy For Tonight
10. It's A Raid
11. Take What You Want


FORMATION:
Andrew Watt: Guitares
Chad Smith: Batterie
Duff McKagan: Basse
Ozzy Osbourne: Chant
Elton John: Chant / Invité / Piano
Post Malone: Chant / Invité
Slash: Guitares / Invité
Tom Morello: Guitares / Invité
Travis Scott: Chant / Invité


TAGS:
Accessible / FM, Intimiste, Mélancolique, Chant éraillé
 
 
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Haut de page
(1) COMMENTAIRE(S)
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
TORPEDO - 27/02/2020 10:07:02
0
Certainement pas un album pour les fans d'ozzy mais pour ceux qui aiment le metal très edulcoré et facile d'accès, cet "ordinary man" est assez agréable.
Haut de page
EN RELATION AVEC OZZY OSBOURNE
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
OZZY OSBOURNE: Nouveau clip d'Ordinary Man'
Toutes les actualités sur OZZY OSBOURNE
NOTES
3/5 (1 avis) 3.6/5 (5 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
CHRONIQUE PRECEDENTE
MARKO HIETALA: Pyre Of The Black Heart (2020)
METAL MELODIQUE Malgré une écriture s'étalant sur une vingtaine d'années, "Pyre Of The Black Heart" nous plonge dans l'univers de Marko Hietala au travers de titres introspectifs, très personnels et à l'émotion palpable. Plaisir immédiat garanti.
 
CHRONIQUE SUIVANTE
SONNY LANDRETH: Blacktop Run (2020)
BLUES Varié et captivant, "Blacktop Run" vient conforter Sonny Landreth dans son statut de maître du blues-cajun et d’icône de la Louisiane.
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT OZZY OSBOURNE
OZZY-OSBOURNE_Scream
Scream (2010)
4/5
2/5
SONY BMG / HEAVY METAL
OZZY-OSBOURNE_Black-Rain
Black Rain (2007)
2/5
2/5
EPIC / HEAVY METAL
OZZY-OSBOURNE_Live-At-Budokan
Live At Budokan (2002)
4/5
-/5
EPIC / HEAVY METAL
OZZY-OSBOURNE_Down-To-Earth
Down To Earth (2001)
3/5
2/5
EPIC / HEAVY METAL
OZZY-OSBOURNE_Ozzmosis
Ozzmosis (1995)
4/5
3.7/5
EPIC / HEAVY METAL
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020