BAND/AUTHOR:

DESPISED ICON

(CANADA)

TITLE:
PURGATORY (2019)
LABEL:
NUCLEAR BLAST
GENRE:
DEATH METAL

"Deathcore fans should love this "Purgatory" which sees Despised Icon confirm its good shape with a rather impressive strike force."
NOISE - 29.01.2020 - (0) minds from our readers - (0) comment(s)
4/5
Three years after a "Beast" that had signed him back to business, Despised Icon is back with a sixth album, "Purgatory". The Canadians work in deathcore, a style often little considered by extreme purists. The band, which is part of the leading pack with All Shall Perish or Withechapel, has nevertheless signed a few bleeding records with remarkable punch and stunning energy.

Purgatory", which consists of 11 tracks for just over half an hour, often goes straight to the point without embellishment. Yet it starts surprisingly well with 'Dernier Souffle', a calm and melancholic instrumental that shows a side that was unknown at Despised Icon. But after this calmness, it's the storm that hits the listener. The band play one track after another like a boxing match.

It hurts the gums even though the formula is repetitive. The pattern is classic with a powerful modern sounding drums up front and incisive, fast and direct riffs. There are especially the vocals of Alex and Steve that leave a lasting impression. Between hardcore and brutal death, they complement each other and bring a lot of power to the whole, with bravura tracks like 'Light Speed', 'Slow Burning', 'Legacy' and 'Snake In The Grass' that should delight fans of raging deathcore.

Luckily the band also introduces some variation, which prevents them from offering a too linear record. 'Moving On' is a nice surprise with a dark side, strength in the vocals but also nuance and variation and a good solo. 'Dead Weight' which closes the album is less nuanced but brings a little something with a touch of grind in the vocals and well done soli. 'Vie d'Anges' puts hardcore in the spotlight for an ultra violent result, the vocals in French give it a big strength.

"Purgatory" isn't going to revolutionize a very codified genre but it's a nice slap in the face from a band that knows its stuff. Despised Icon confirms that he's back for good and with this album he's got enough to set a lot of scenes on fire.

More informations on http://www.despisedicon.com



SIMILAR BANDS:
CALIBAN, THY ART IS MURDER, WHITECHAPEL, SUICIDE SILENCE, CARNIFEX, THE BLACK DAHLIA MURDER

TRACK LISTING:
01. Dernier Souffle - 1:49
02. Purgatory - 3:47
03. Light Speed - 2:33
04. Slow Burning - 3:16
05. Snake in the Grass - 3:21
06. Vies D'Anges - 2:53
07. Moving On - 4:51
08. Unbreakable - 3:14
09. Apex Predator - 3:06
10. Legacy - 3:26
11. Dead Weight - 3:59


LINEUP:
Alex Pelletier: Batterie
Alexandre Erian: Chant
Ben Landreville: Guitares
Eric Jarrin: Guitares
Sebastien Piche: Basse
Steve Marois: Chant


TAGS:
Heavy, Rasping voice, Grunt/Growl voice
 
 
(0) MIND(S) FROM OUR READERS
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Top of the page
(0) COMMENT(S)
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
No comment. Be the first to react about this review or on this production
Top of the page
IN RELATION WITH DESPISED ICON
RATING
- /5 (0 view(s)) 4/5 (1 view(s))
MY RATE:
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
PREVIOUS REVIEW
MOBIUS: Kala (2020)
PROGRESSIVE METAL "Kala" is one of the most interesting album of the beginning of the year.
 
NEXT REVIEW
AVATARIUM: The Fire I Long For (2019)
DOOM "The Fire I Long For" is a bewitching alloy between the elegance of a female vocal and the volcanic power of guitars, the whole covered with progressive emanations escaped from the seventies.
STREAMING
 
 
OTHER(S) REVIEWS ABOUT DESPISED ICON
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / DESPISED ICON: Purgatory
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

DESPISED ICON

(CANADA)

TITRE:
PURGATORY
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
NUCLEAR BLAST
GENRE:
DEATH METAL
"Les amateurs de deathcore devraient raffoler de ce "Purgatory" qui voit Despised Icon confirmer sa belle forme avec une force de frappe assez impressionnante."
NOISE - 29.01.2020 -
Trois ans après un "Beast" qui avait signé son retour aux affaires, Despised Icon est de retour avec un sixième album, "Purgatory". Les Canadiens œuvrent dans le deathcore, un style souvent peu considéré par les puristes de l’extrême. Le groupe, qui fait partie du peloton de tête avec All Shall Perish ou Withechapel, a pourtant signé quelques disques saignants avec une puissance de frappe remarquable et une énergie renversante.

Composé de 11 titres pour à peine plus d’une demi-heure, "Purgatory" va souvent droit au but sans fioriture. Pourtant il commence de manière surprenante avec ‘Dernier Souffle’, instrumental calme et mélancolique qui montre un côté à fleur de peau qu’on ne connaissait pas à Despised Icon. Mais après ce calme, c’est bien la tempête qui frappe l’auditeur. Le groupe enchaîne les titres comme on donne des coups dans un match de boxe.

Cela fait mal aux gencives même si la formule est répétitive. Le schéma est classique avec une batterie en avant au son moderne puissant et des riffs incisifs, rapides et directs. Il y a surtout les chants d’Alex et Steve qui marquent les esprits. Entre hardcore et brutal death, ils se complètent et amènent une sacrée puissance à l’ensemble, avec des morceaux de bravoure comme ‘Light Speed’, ‘Slow Burning’, ‘Legacy’ et ‘Snake In The Grass’ qui devraient ravir les amateurs d’un deathcore hargneux.

Heureusement le groupe introduit aussi un peu de variation ce qui lui évite de proposer un disque trop linéaire. ‘Moving On’ est une belle surprise avec une facette sombre, de la force dans les chants mais aussi de la nuance et des variations et un solo de bonne facture. ‘Dead Weight’ qui clôture l’album est moins nuancé mais amène un petit truc avec une touche de grind dans le chant et des soli bien réalisés. ‘Vie d’Anges’ met le hardcore en avant pour un résultat ultra violent, le chant en français revendicatif lui apporte une grosse force

"Purgatory" ne va pas révolutionner un genre très codifié mais il est une jolie claque de la part d’un groupe qui connaît bien son sujet. Despised Icon confirme qu’il est de retour pour de bon et avec cet album il a de quoi mettre le feu à pas mal de scènes.

Plus d'information sur http://www.despisedicon.com

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
CALIBAN, SUICIDE SILENCE, THE BLACK DAHLIA MURDER, CARNIFEX, WHITECHAPEL, THY ART IS MURDER

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Dernier Souffle - 1:49
02. Purgatory - 3:47
03. Light Speed - 2:33
04. Slow Burning - 3:16
05. Snake in the Grass - 3:21
06. Vies D'Anges - 2:53
07. Moving On - 4:51
08. Unbreakable - 3:14
09. Apex Predator - 3:06
10. Legacy - 3:26
11. Dead Weight - 3:59


FORMATION:
Alex Pelletier: Batterie
Alexandre Erian: Chant
Ben Landreville: Guitares
Eric Jarrin: Guitares
Sebastien Piche: Basse
Steve Marois: Chant


TAGS:
Lourde, Oppressant, Chant éraillé, Chant grunt/growl
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC DESPISED ICON
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (1 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT DESPISED ICON
 
DESPISED-ICON_Purgatory Purgatory (2019)
NUCLEAR BLAST / DEATH METAL
DESPISED-ICON_Day-Of-Mourning Day Of Mourning (2009)
CENTURY MEDIA RECORDS / DEATH METAL
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020