MW / Home / Reviews / SWARM: Anathema
BAND/AUTHOR:

SWARM

(FRANCE)

TITLE:
ANATHEMA
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
THRASH
"With its sound inherited from Pantera or Lamb Of God mixed with other influences, "Anathema" is a rich and intelligent Thrash record."
NOISE - 15.01.2020 -
Since his debut for Antibes in 2012, Swarm has done well. He proposed a first opus in 2017 and has been touring the roads independently. With its groovy thrash, the band has shown a solid face and we expect his new opus, "Anathema", to confirm these beautiful dispositions. The record is dense with one hour of music and several long tracks, confirming a social side engaged in a complicated era.

We find a sound inherited from a Pantera or a Lamb Of God mixed with other influences giving a rich and varied result. 'Frontiers', 'The Deed Is Done' and 'Sputnik Explorer' are at the top of the thrash genre with a remarkable power and a typical groove. There's a hint of metalcore in 'Life On Hold', with its clear and veiled vocals, and 'Legacy Of Misery', which are both catchy and powerful. Fast and mind-blowing, 'Intifada' and 'Five' are worthy of Slayer and show great instrumental punch. On 'Five' and 'The Deed Is Done', we also appreciate the presence of French vocals, which brings a nice extra soul not far from a Lofofora.

'New Sun' which mixes all these influences with a very fast Overkill riff and a typical 90's groove. The track alternates well the ambiences with a pinch of clear vocals and an intense and mastered instrumental part. There is also 'Pyroclastic Flow', an instrumental that closes the album in beauty with a calm beginning, a huge rise in power and always this groove, very present in the riffs and solos. Finally, 'Simple Automata' surprises with its sweet intro and a very pure vocal and then bursts out with the same alternation between calm and raw power.

With "Anathema", Swarm offers a rich and intelligent record which uses in a melting pot all the richness of the thrash scene. With such a convincing opus under their arm, the French band has the weapons to continue on their way in the best possible way.

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/swarmofficial/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

PANTERA, SLAYER, LAMB OF GOD, OVERKILL, SOULFLY, LOFOFORA

TRACK LISTING

01. New sun
02. Frontiers
03. Intifada
04. he Deed Is Done
05. Spoutnik Explorer
06. Deaf Blind Silent
07. Life on Hold
08. Simple Automata (Return at Home)
09. Legacy of Misery
10. Five
11. Pyroclastic Flow


LINEUP

Anthony Trillaud: Batterie
Antoine Chapet: Guitares
Matt Bankowski: Guitares
Mikael Gentili: Basse
Rémy Pauck: Chant


TAGS:
90's, Groovy, Heavy, Rasping voice
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS SWARM
 
RATING
 
4/5 (1 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS SWARM
 
SWARM_Anathema Anathema (2019)
AUTRE LABEL / THRASH
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / SWARM: Anathema
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

SWARM

(FRANCE)

TITRE:
ANATHEMA
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
THRASH
"Swarm confirme les belles dispositions entrevues avec un thrash percutant teinté d'un esprit des années 90."
NOISE - 15.01.2020 -
Depuis ses débuts du côté d’Antibes en 2012, Swarm a bien roulé sa bosse. Il a proposé un premier opus en 2017 et a écumé les routes, le tout de manière indépendante. Avec son thrash groovy, le groupe a montré un visage solide et on attend de son nouvel opus, "Anathema", qu’il confirme ces belles dispositions. Le disque est dense avec une heure de musique et plusieurs titres assez  longs, confirmant par ailleurs un côté social engagé bien dans l’air d’une époque compliquée.

On retrouve un son hérité d’un Pantera ou d’un Lamb Of God mixé à d’autres influences donnant un résultat riche et varié. ‘Frontiers’, ‘The Deed Is Done’ et ‘Spoutnik Explorer’ se placent dans le haut du genre thrash avec une puissance remarquable et un groove typique. Il y a une pointe de metalcore dans ‘Life On Hold’, dont le chant clair et voilé est remarquable, et ‘Legacy Of Misery’ qui se montrent à la fois accrocheurs et puissants. Rapides et ébouriffants, ‘Intifada’ et ‘Five’ sont dignes de Slayer et montrent une belle force de frappe instrumentale. On appréciera aussi sur ‘Five’ et ‘The Deed Is Done’ la présence de chant en français, ce qui apporte un joli supplément d’âme pas loin d’un Lofofora.

‘New Sun’ qui mélange toute ces influences décoiffe avec un riff ultra rapide à la Overkill et un groove typique des années 90. Le titre alterne bien les ambiances avec une pincée de chant clair et une partie instrumentale intense et maîtrisée. Il y a aussi ‘Pyroclastic Flow’, instrumental clôturant l’album en beauté avec un début calme à fleur de peau, une montée en puissance énorme et toujours ce groove, bien présent dans les riffs et soli. Enfin ‘Simple Automata’ surprend avec sa douce intro et un chant très pur puis éclate avec la même alternance entre calme et puissance brute.

Avec "Anathema", Swarm propose un disque riche et intelligent qui utilise dans un melting pot toute la richesse de la scène thrash. Avec un opus si convaincant sous le bras, le groupe français a les armes pour continuer son chemin de la meilleure des manières.

Plus d'information sur https://www.facebook.com/swarmofficial/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
PANTERA, SLAYER, LAMB OF GOD, OVERKILL, SOULFLY, LOFOFORA

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. New sun
02. Frontiers
03. Intifada
04. he Deed Is Done
05. Spoutnik Explorer
06. Deaf Blind Silent
07. Life on Hold
08. Simple Automata (Return at Home)
09. Legacy of Misery
10. Five
11. Pyroclastic Flow


FORMATION:
Anthony Trillaud: Batterie
Antoine Chapet: Guitares
Matt Bankowski: Guitares
Mikael Gentili: Basse
Rémy Pauck: Chant


TAGS:
90's, Groovy, Lourde, Oppressant, Chant éraillé
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC SWARM
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
SWARM : En concert à Lyon le 1er février prochain
CONCERT

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant SWARM
 
DERNIER ARTICLE
"Anathema", c'est le deuxième album fraîchement sorti de Swarm. A l'occasion de cette actualité, Music Waves avait rendez-vous avec les membres du groupe...

Lire l'article
Voir tous les articles concernant SWARM
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (1 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT SWARM
 
SWARM_Anathema Anathema (2019)
AUTRE LABEL / THRASH
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020