BAND/AUTHOR:

MOBIUS

(FRANCE)

TITLE:
KALA (2020)
LABEL:
AUTOPRODUCTION
GENRE:
PROGRESSIVE METAL

""Kala" is one of the most interesting album of the beginning of the year."
NEWF - 28.01.2020 - (0) minds from our readers - (3) comment(s)
4/5
The French prog metal scene is remarkably lively. 2019 has been an excellent vintage for French bands evolving in the genre, and 2020 starts just as well with Mobius' second album, "Kala".

Born on the island of La Réunion in 2012, Mobius quickly packed his bags in Lyon, integrating new members and releasing its first album in 2016, "The Line". A first successful attempt showing a band with a strong potential knowing how to marry styles, between progressive metal, symphonic metal and world music. Three years later, symphonic metal has practically disappeared from Mobius' music. But its personality has particularly asserted itself. So much so that "Kala" is without a doubt the most original and interesting album of the beginning of this year.

However, the challenge of combining modern metal with djent inspirations and Indian and Asian sounds is not an easy one. But Mobius manages it with flying colours. First of all thanks to progressive and inventive compositions built around a formidable rhythmic sense, giving pride of place to syncopated guitar riffs and a huge amount of work on the bass ('Abhinivesha'). Then thanks to esoteric lyrics in English and Sanskrit that add an occult spirituality to the mysticism of Mobius' music. This propensity for esotericism is sublimated by the delicate voice of Heli Andrea who combines lightness and power and does not hesitate to modulate his inflections to the point of sometimes becoming incantatory, recalling in certain aspects the work of Magma with whom Mobius has many points in common ('Sharira', 'M').

The album is punctuated by short intriguing instrumentals called 'A', 'U' and 'M' which, besides the reference to the famous Hindu "Om" or "Aum" that defines the original sound, allow to breath to grasp the richness of the main tracks. And from this point of view, "Kala" doesn't suffer from any weakness and subtly mixes ancestral musical influences to a very modern progressive metal ('Akasha'). In spite of a very technical music, Mobius effortlessly leads us into his singular universe, alternating djent rhythms ('Mukti') and tribal cadences ('Abhinivesha', 'U'), huge riffs and aerial keyboards ('Akasha', 'Bhati'), jazzy guitar soli and slapped bass (Abhinivesha'), while sprinkling each track with Indian and oriental sonorities which make all the originality and richness of his musical discourse.

Constructed as a slow progression from shadow to light, the album illustrates the cycle of life, beginning with the dark 'Abhinivesha' about death and disappearance and ending with the miracle of birth (the magnificent 'Bhati') and an instrumental offering to the Hindu God of fire and light ('Agni'). Although the theme may seem obscure at first glance, it corresponds in every way to the richness of Mobius' music. And all the strength and originality of "Kala" lies in the coherence and sincerity of its musical intent.

There's no doubt about it, Mobius has just entered the court of the greats of the hexagonal metal prog scene and deserves to cross our borders. It's only a matter of time. And time is called "Kala" in Sanskrit.

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/mobiusofficialband



SIMILAR BANDS:
TESSERACT, MAGMA, LEPROUS, PERIPHERY

TRACK LISTING:
01. A
02. Abhinivesha
03. Sharira
04. U
05. Mukti
06. Akasha
07. M
08. Bhati
09. Agni


LINEUP:
Adrien.: Batterie
Alexandre.: Basse
Guillaume.: Claviers
Heli.: Chant
Xavier.: Guitares


TAGS:
Cutting Edge, Fusion, Groovy, Technical, Female voice
 
 
(0) MIND(S) FROM OUR READERS
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Top of the page
(3) COMMENT(S)
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
CALGEPO - 27/03/2020 11:33:42
0
Excellente découverte que ce groupe. Je partage le fait il y a un rapprochement avec Weend'o mais Mobius va plus loin dans un metal fusionnel et world en étant plus destructuré et dense. Chapeau.
TORPEDO - 29/01/2020 10:06:53
0
Je trouve qu'il y a un coté Weend'o assez prononcé. Sans doute le chant féminin pas très éloigné. Mobius est peut être le coté le plus progressif de Weend'o, moins mélodique et plus technique. Je me trompe ?
Top of the page
IN RELATION WITH MOBIUS
LAST NEWS
MOBIUS: Kala
All news about MOBIUS
RATING
- /5 (0 view(s)) 4/5 (2 view(s))
MY RATE:
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
PREVIOUS REVIEW
AGNOSTIC FRONT: Get Loud! (2019)
HARDCORE Agnostic Front does not reinvent itself, and that is not what we are asking of it. "Get Loud!" is a pretty hardcore blast that just goes straight to the point with rage and energy.
 
NEXT REVIEW
DESPISED ICON: Purgatory (2019)
DEATH METAL Deathcore fans should love this "Purgatory" which sees Despised Icon confirm its good shape with a rather impressive strike force.
STREAMING
 
 
OTHER(S) REVIEWS ABOUT MOBIUS
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / MOBIUS: Kala
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

MOBIUS

(FRANCE)

TITRE:
KALA
ANNEE PARUTION:
2020
LABEL:
AUTOPRODUCTION
GENRE:
METAL PROGRESSIF
""Kala" est l'un des albums les plus originaux et intéressants de ce début d’année."
NEWF - 28.01.2020 -
La scène metal prog française est d’une vitalité remarquable. 2019 a été un excellent cru pour les groupes français évoluant dans le genre, et 2020 commence tout aussi bien avec le deuxième album de Mobius, "Kala".

Né sur l’île de La Réunion en 2012, Mobius pose rapidement ses valises à Lyon, intègre de nouveaux membres et sort son premier album en 2016, "The Line". Un premier essai réussi montrant un groupe au fort potentiel sachant marier les styles, entre metal progressif, metal symphonique et musiques du monde. Trois ans plus tard, le metal symphonique a pratiquement disparu de la musique de Mobius. Mais sa personnalité, elle, s’est particulièrement affirmée. A tel point que "Kala" est sans aucun doute l’album le plus original et le plus intéressant de ce début d’année.

Pourtant, le défi de conjuguer metal moderne aux inspirations djent et sonorités indiennes et asiatiques n’est pas des plus faciles à relever. Mais Mobius s’en sort haut la main. D’abord grâce à des compositions progressives et inventives construites autour d’un sens rythmique redoutable, faisant la part belle aux riffs syncopés des guitares et à un travail énorme de la basse (‘Abhinivesha’). Ensuite grâce à des textes ésotériques en anglais et en sanskrit qui ajoutent une spiritualité occulte au mysticisme de la musique de Mobius. Cette propension à l’ésotérisme est sublimée par la voix délicate d’Heli Andrea qui allie légèreté et puissance et n’hésite pas à moduler ses inflexions jusqu’à devenir parfois incantatoire, rappelant par certains aspects les travaux de Magma avec lequel Mobius possède de nombreux points communs (‘Sharira’, ‘M’).

L’album est ponctué par de courts instrumentaux intrigants baptisés ‘A’, ‘U’ et ‘M’ qui, outre la référence au célèbre "Om" ou "Aum" hindouiste définissant le son originel, permettent la respiration nécessaire pour appréhender la richesse des titres principaux. Et de ce point de vue, "Kala" ne souffre d’aucune faiblesse et mélange avec subtilité des influences musicales ancestrales à un metal progressif très moderne (‘Akasha’). Malgré une musique très technique, Mobius nous entraine sans effort dans son univers singulier, alternant rythmiques djent (‘Mukti’) et cadences tribales (‘Abhinivesha’, ‘U’), riffs énormes et claviers aériens (‘Akasha’, 'Bhati'), solos de guitare jazzy et basse slappée (Abhinivesha’), tout en parsemant chaque titre des sonorités indiennes et orientales qui font toute l’originalité et la richesse de son discours musical.

Construit comme une lente progression de l’ombre vers la lumière, l’album illustre le cycle de la vie, débutant par le sombre ‘Abhinivesha’ traitant de la mort et de la disparition et se terminant par le miracle de la naissance (le magnifique ‘Bhati’) et une offrande instrumentale au Dieu hindou du feu et de la lumière (‘Agni’). Si la thématique peut paraître obscure au premier abord, elle correspond en tout point à la richesse de la musique de Mobius. Et toute la force et l’originalité de "Kala" réside dans la cohérence et la sincérité de son propos musical.

A n’en pas douter, Mobius vient d’entrer dans la cour des grands de la scène metal prog hexagonale et mérite largement de franchir nos frontières. Ce n’est qu’une histoire de temps. Et le temps se dit "Kala" en sanskrit.

Plus d'information sur https://www.facebook.com/mobiusofficialband

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
LEPROUS, MAGMA, TESSERACT, PERIPHERY

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. A
02. Abhinivesha
03. Sharira
04. U
05. Mukti
06. Akasha
07. M
08. Bhati
09. Agni


FORMATION:
Adrien.: Batterie
Alexandre.: Basse
Guillaume.: Claviers
Heli.: Chant
Xavier.: Guitares


TAGS:
Avant-gardiste, Fusion, Groovy, Technique, Chant féminin
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
productionuser_idproduction_comment_id
TORPEDO - 29/01/2020 10:06:53
Je trouve qu'il y a un coté Weend'o assez prononcé. Sans doute le chant féminin pas très éloigné. Mobius est peut être le coté le plus progressif de Weend'o, moins mélodique et plus technique. Je me trompe ?
2527
 com_answer_user_id

  NEWF   - 01/02/2020 11:40:22
Pour moi, Weend'O ne fait pas de metal prog ... mais bon, c'est un avis personnel.
 
EN RELATION AVEC MOBIUS
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
MOBIUS: Nouvel album en janvier
SORTIE

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant MOBIUS
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (1 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT MOBIUS
 
MOBIUS_Kala Kala (2020)
AUTOPRODUCTION / METAL PROGRESSIF
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020