MW / Home / Reviews / WRECKING CREW: Fun In The Doghouse (réédition 2019)
BAND/AUTHOR:

WRECKING CREW

(AUSTRALIA)

TITLE:
FUN IN THE DOGHOUSE (RÉÉDITION 2019)
RELEASE DATE:
1993
LABEL:
BAD REPUTATION
GENRE:
HARD ROCK
"Wrecking Crew skillfully mixes funk and blues to make "Fun In The Doghouse" an unstoppable and refreshing hard rock album."
LOLOCELTIC - 12.02.2020 -
It's not easy to make a place for yourself in the sun when you're an Australian rock band. Just ask Airbourne and Koritni, for example, who, despite their immense qualities, have all the trouble in the world to reach the last rung of international recognition. It's hard to get out of the shadow of AC/DC, Rose Tattoo, The Angels or Cold Chisel and Jimmy Barnes... That's a bit like what happened to Wrecking Crew in 1993. With its album produced by Kevin Shirley (Iron Maiden, Journey, Rush, The Black Crowes...), the quartet seemed to be ready to impose itself in the hard rock landscape. Unfortunately, in the midst of the grunge wave, they didn't get the support they should have got from their label and it took all the tenacity and flair of Eric Coubard to give "Fun In The Doghouse" a new chance by being re-released by Bad Reputation in 2019.

And it would have been a shame to miss this nugget which, far from proposing a new cloning of the traditional pub-rock of its island-continent of origin, offers a hard rock with asserted funk and fusion colours married to blues-rock roots. One thinks of The Black Crowes ('Welcome To The Circus' and its brass section), Great White ('Ten Cent Lovin' ' and its accents to 'Rock Me' or the mid-tempo bluesy ballad 'Going Down' which reminds us of 'Old Rose Motel') or AC/DC mixed with Aerosmith ('Stay', powerful, direct and groovy). But the main band that comes to mind is Extreme because of this dose of funk they added to their music ('She Wants Love', 'Round And Round').

But if we're talking about influences here, it's never about shameful plagiarism: the Aussies know how to marry genres to make a music of their own. The drums propel the band with an irresistible groove, the bass can be massive and crush everything in its path ('Do What You Do') and this rhythmic pair knows how to unite their efforts on syncopated and original bases ('Outta Love'). Brent Dehn, on the other hand, proves to be a guitarist who would have deserved to sit next to Nuno Bettencourt (Extreme, Mourning Widows) with unstoppable riffs ('She Wants Love') and luminous soli ('Stay', 'Haunted', 'Outta Love'). We even think of Eddie Van Halen for a quick and crazy 'Hell To Pay', confirming the interest of the three bonus tracks offered on this re-release. As for Dave Wilkins, apart from a few light passages in lead vocals ('Haunted'), he reminds us of Jack Russell (Great White).

Magnificent initiative that the re-release of this opus and it would be inconceivable that this jewel of hard rock, both funky and bluesy, would again missed by the fans of the genre. At a time when the band is working on a second album, it is essential to encourage it by paying to "Fun In The Doghouse" the tribute it deserves.

More informations on

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

LED ZEPPELIN, AC/DC, AEROSMITH, VAN HALEN, THE BLACK CROWES, EXTREME, GREAT WHITE, COLD CHISEL, LITTLE ANGELS

TRACK LISTING

01. Welcome To The Circus - 5:04
02. Ten Cent Lovin' - 5:14
03. Stay - 3:42
04. Sister Mercy - 3:48
05. She Wants Love - 3:29
06. Do What You Do - 4:40
07. Going Down - 5:44
08. Haunted - 5:39
09. Outta Love - 4:27
10. Soul Train - 4:50
11. Round And Round (bonus Track) - 3:44
12. Keep The Dream Alive (bonus Track) - 2:49
13. Hell To Pay (bonus Track) - 4:23


LINEUP

Brent Dehn: Guitares
Dave Wilkins: Chant
David Anthony Reynolds: Basse
Gary Synnerdahl: Batterie


TAGS:
70's, 80's, Bluesy, Funky, Groovy, Acute voice
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
productionuser_idproduction_comment_id
NEWF - 13/02/2020 18:59:08
Un excellent album qui méritait bien une réédition. En attendant le prochain prévu cette année ...
2312538
 
LINKS WRECKING CREW
 
RATING
 
4/5 (3 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS WRECKING CREW
 
WRECKING-CREW_Fun-In-The-Doghouse-reedition-19 Fun In The Doghouse (réédition 2019) (1993)
BAD REPUTATION / HARD ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / WRECKING CREW: Fun In The Doghouse (réédition 2019)
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

WRECKING CREW

(AUSTRALIE)

TITRE:
FUN IN THE DOGHOUSE (RÉÉDITION 2019)
ANNEE PARUTION:
1993
LABEL:
BAD REPUTATION
GENRE:
HARD ROCK
"Wrecking Crew mélange avec talent le funk et le blues pour faire de "Fun In The Doghouse" un album de hard rock imparable et rafraîchissant."
LOLOCELTIC - 12.02.2020 -
Pas évident de se faire une place au soleil lorsque l’on est un groupe de rock australien. Demandez à Airbourne et à Koritni par exemple qui, malgré leurs immenses qualités, ont toutes les peines du monde à franchir le dernier échelon de la reconnaissance internationale. Difficile de sortir de l’ombre des AC/DC, Rose Tattoo, The Angels ou Cold Chisel et Jimmy Barnes… C’est un peu ce qui est arrivé à Wrecking Crew en 1993. Avec son album produit par Kevin Shirley (Iron Maiden, Journey, Rush, The Black Crowes…) sous le bras, le quatuor semblait être armé pour s’imposer dans le paysage du hard rock. Malheureusement, en pleine vague grunge, il n’a pas eu droit au soutien qu’il aurait dû obtenir de son label et il a fallu toute la ténacité et le flair d’Eric Coubard pour que "Fun In The Doghouse" se voie offrir une nouvelle chance en étant réédité chez Bad Reputation en 2019.

Et il aurait été dommage de passer à côté de cette pépite qui, loin d’offrir un nouveau clonage du traditionnel pub-rock de son île-continent d’origine, propose un hard rock aux couleurs funk et fusion affirmées et mariées à des racines blues-rock assumées. On pense à The Black Crowes (‘Welcome To The Circus’ et sa section cuivre), à Great White (‘Ten Cent Lovin’ ’ et ses accents à la ‘Rock Me’ ou la ballade bluesy mid-tempo ‘Going Down’ qui n’est pas sans rappeler ‘Old Rose Motel’) ou à AC/DC ayant copulé avec Aerosmith (‘Stay’, puissant, direct et groovy). Mais la principale formation qui vient à l’esprit, c’est Extreme en raison d’une dose de funk à se déboîter le bassin (‘She Wants Love’, ‘Round And Round’).

Mais si nous parlons d’influences ici, il n’est jamais question de pompage honteux : les Aussies savent marier les genres pour en faire un plat à leur sauce. La batterie propulse l’ensemble avec un groove irrésistible, la basse peut se révéler massive et tout écraser sur son passage (‘Do What You Do’) et cette paire rythmique sait unir ses efforts sur des bases syncopées et originales (‘Outta Love’). De son côté, Brent Dehn se révèle être un guitariste qui aurait mérité de prendre place aux côtés d’un Nuno Bettencourt (Extreme, Mourning Widows) avec des riffs imparables (‘She Wants Love’) et des soli lumineux (‘Stay’, ‘Haunted’, ‘Outta Love’). On pense même à Eddie Van Halen le temps d’un ‘Hell To Pay’ rapide et déjanté, confirmant au passage l’intérêt des trois titres bonus offerts sur cette réédition. Quant à Dave Wilkins, en dehors de quelques légers passages en voix de tête (‘Haunted’), il n’est pas sans rappeler Jack Russell (Great White).

Magnifique initiative que la réédition de cet opus et il serait inconcevable que ce bijou de hard rock à la fois funky et bluesy passe à nouveau à côté des oreilles des amateurs du genre sans retenir leur attention. A l’heure où le groupe travaille sur un deuxième album, il est indispensable de l’encourager en rendant à "Fun In The Doghouse" l’hommage qu’il mérite. Par contre, pensez à échauffer vos articulations avant l’écoute de cet album, car elles vont être soumises à rude épreuve.

Plus d'information sur

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
LED ZEPPELIN, AC/DC, AEROSMITH, VAN HALEN, THE BLACK CROWES, EXTREME, GREAT WHITE, COLD CHISEL, LITTLE ANGELS

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Welcome To The Circus - 5:04
02. Ten Cent Lovin' - 5:14
03. Stay - 3:42
04. Sister Mercy - 3:48
05. She Wants Love - 3:29
06. Do What You Do - 4:40
07. Going Down - 5:44
08. Haunted - 5:39
09. Outta Love - 4:27
10. Soul Train - 4:50
11. Round And Round (bonus Track) - 3:44
12. Keep The Dream Alive (bonus Track) - 2:49
13. Hell To Pay (bonus Track) - 4:23


FORMATION:
Brent Dehn: Guitares
Dave Wilkins: Chant
David Anthony Reynolds: Basse
Gary Synnerdahl: Batterie


TAGS:
70's, 80's, Bluesy, Funky, Groovy, Chant aigu
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
productionuser_idproduction_comment_id
NEWF - 13/02/2020 18:59:08
Un excellent album qui méritait bien une réédition. En attendant le prochain prévu cette année ...
2312538
 
EN RELATION AVEC WRECKING CREW
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (3 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT WRECKING CREW
 
WRECKING-CREW_Fun-In-The-Doghouse-reedition-19 Fun In The Doghouse (réédition 2019) (1993)
BAD REPUTATION / HARD ROCK
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020