BAND/AUTHOR:

CATCHLIGHT

(FRANCE)

TITLE:
HELIOS PART ONE (2019)
LABEL:
AUTOPRODUCTION
GENRE:
PROGRESSIVE METAL

"Between post rock, atmospheric rock and progressive rock, Catchlight is looking for its way."
NEWF - 03.02.2020 - (0) minds from our readers - (0) comment(s)
3/5
If there's one band that's been emulated around the world, it's Porcupine Tree. There are hundreds of bands claiming to be his musical ancestors. Catchlight is one of them even if the group of Steven Wilson is not its only influence and that the contributions of Tool, Karnivool or Riverside were obvious with the listening of the first album of the Lyonnais, "Amaryllis", appeared in 2016.

For this second opus, "Helios Part One", we take the same and we start again. This is not surprising, given that this new concept album is a prequel to the first one, whose post-apocalyptic universe is based on a science-fiction story written by guitarist and singer Sébastien Arnaud, founder of Catchlight. However, the band's obvious progress in terms of production and realisation, with the aim of creating an immersive music that fits perfectly with the dark and melancholic lyrics questioning on the survival of humanity after the end of civilisation, is to be commended.

If the approach is not frankly original, Catchlight has a definite talent for creating bewitching and emotional atmospheres. In this register, the first two tracks of the album ('Hemera' and 'Extinction') are the most successful and impose Anathema as another obvious influence of the band.

But if, like Anathema or Tool, Catchlight builds its compositions on powerful upswing  intended to carry away the adhesion and to provoke the emotion, some tracks struggle to really take off and prove to be not very convincing. It is in particular the case of 'Nyx', rather monotonous electro-atmospheric instrumental, and the very long and repetitive 'Cyclops' which adds Nine Inch Nails to the long list of influences of Catchlight.

Multiplying influences is one thing, digesting them is another. And even if it's nice to listen to, 'Helios Part One' never really shows the true personality of Catchlight, seeking his way between post rock and atmospheric rock, tempting timid incursions into the universe of metal and progressive rock by too showy borrowings from Porcupine Tree (Silent Ghosts') and leaving the listener with a taste of unfinished business despite some very promising tracks ('Resurrection'). It's a pity because Catchlight seems to have a real potential that is just waiting to blossom. But the adventure has only just begun and the band has the future ahead of it to take its marks.

More informations on http://www.catchlight.fr/



SIMILAR BANDS:
TOOL, FACE THE DAY, KARNIVOOL, ANATHEMA, RIVERSIDE, PORCUPINE TREE

TRACK LISTING:
01. Hemera - 4:05
02. Extinction - 5:18
03. Silent Ghosts - 5:40
04. Insurrection - 7:08
05. Nyx - 3:53
06. Cyclops - 9:30
07. Resurrection - 8:02


LINEUP:
Arnaud Michelet: Guitares
Michael Holzinger: Batterie
Sébastien Arnaud: Chant / Guitares


TAGS:
Melancholic, Smoothing, Dark, Concept-album
 
 
(0) MIND(S) FROM OUR READERS
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Top of the page
(0) COMMENT(S)
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
No comment. Be the first to react about this review or on this production
Top of the page
IN RELATION WITH CATCHLIGHT
RATING
4/5 (2 view(s)) 3/5 (1 view(s))
MY RATE:
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
PREVIOUS REVIEW
NORTHTALE: Welcome To Paradise (2019)
MELODIC METAL Far from being the expected revolution in power metal and renewing the genre, "Welcome To Paradise" is a record that will nevertheless give you a good time.
 
NEXT REVIEW
ANVIL: Legal At Last (2020)
HEAVY METAL Anvil is still here and offers a new very nice album of heavy metal tinged with hard rock.
STREAMING
 
 
OTHER(S) REVIEWS ABOUT CATCHLIGHT
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / CATCHLIGHT: Helios Part One
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

CATCHLIGHT

(FRANCE)

TITRE:
HELIOS PART ONE
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
AUTOPRODUCTION
GENRE:
METAL PROGRESSIF
"Entre post rock, rock atmosphérique et rock progressif, Catchlight cherche sa voie."
NEWF - 03.02.2020 -
S’il y a bien un groupe qui a fait des émules aux quatre coins de la planète, c’est Porcupine Tree. Les formations se réclamant de sa filiation musicale se comptent par centaines. Certains l’évoquent du bout des lèvres. D’autres l’assument clairement. Catchlight fait partie de la seconde catégorie, même si le groupe de Steven Wilson n’est pas sa seule influence et que les apports de Tool, Karnivool ou Riverside étaient manifestes à l’écoute du premier album des Lyonnais, "Amaryllis", paru en 2016.

Pour ce deuxième opus, "Helios Part One", on prend les mêmes et on recommence. Ce n’est pas étonnant, vu que ce nouveau concept album est un préquel au premier, dont l’univers post-apocalyptique est basé sur une histoire science-fictionnelle écrite par le guitariste et chanteur Sébastien Arnaud, fondateur de Catchlight. Cependant, il faut saluer les progrès manifestes du groupe en termes de production et de réalisation, dans le but de créer une musique immersive collant parfaitement au propos sombre et mélancolique des textes s’interrogeant sur la survie de l’humanité après la fin de la civilisation.

Si la démarche n’est pas franchement originale, il faut reconnaître à Catchlight un talent certain pour créer des ambiances envoûtantes et émotionnelles. Dans ce registre, les deux premiers titres de l’album (‘Hemera’ et ‘Extinction’) sont les plus réussis et imposent Anathema comme une autre influence évidente du groupe.

Mais comparaison n’est pas raison et même si, comme Anathema ou Tool, Catchlight construit ses compositions sur des montées en puissance destinées à emporter l’adhésion et à provoquer l’émotion, certains morceaux peinent à réellement décoller et s’avèrent peu convaincants. C’est notamment le cas de ‘Nyx’, instrumental electro atmosphérique plutôt monotone, et du très long et répétitif ‘Cyclops’ qui ajoute Nine Inch Nails à la longue liste d’influences de Catchlight.

C’est bien là tout le problème. Multiplier les influences est une chose, les digérer en est une autre. Et même s’il est agréable à écouter, "Helios Part One" ne montre jamais réellement la vraie personnalité de Catchlight, cherchant sa voie entre post rock et rock atmosphérique, tentant des incursions timides dans l’univers du metal et du rock progressif par des emprunts trop voyants à Porcupine Tree (Silent Ghosts’) et laissant à l’auditeur un goût d’inachevé malgré quelques titres très prometteurs (‘Resurrection’). C’est dommage car Catchlight semble avoir un réel potentiel qui ne demande qu’à éclore. Mais l’aventure ne fait que commencer et le groupe a l’avenir devant lui pour prendre ses marques.

Plus d'information sur http://www.catchlight.fr/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
PORCUPINE TREE, ANATHEMA, RIVERSIDE, TOOL, KARNIVOOL, FACE THE DAY

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Hemera - 4:05
02. Extinction - 5:18
03. Silent Ghosts - 5:40
04. Insurrection - 7:08
05. Nyx - 3:53
06. Cyclops - 9:30
07. Resurrection - 8:02


FORMATION:
Arnaud Michelet: Guitares
Michael Holzinger: Batterie
Sébastien Arnaud: Chant / Guitares


TAGS:
Mélancolique, Planant, Sombre, Concept-album
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC CATCHLIGHT
 
NOTES
 
3/5 (1 avis)
4/5 (2 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT CATCHLIGHT
 
CATCHLIGHT_Helios-Part-One Helios Part One (2019)
AUTOPRODUCTION / METAL PROGRESSIF
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020