MW / Home / Reviews / CRAYON PHASE: Two Hundred Pages
BAND/AUTHOR:

CRAYON PHASE

(GERMANY)

TITLE:
TWO HUNDRED PAGES
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
GENTLE ART OF MUSIC
GENRE:
PROGRESSIVE ROCK
"Crayon Phase does not renew the neo-prog but intelligently knows how to use its codes to produce a dynamic opus."
ABADDON - 14.01.2020 -
Founded in 2008 and already boosted by a first album ("Within My Recollection", 2013), the German quartet Crayon Phase officiates in a dynamic neo-progressive style. The search for a singer for their new project took some time, and it was only six years later that "Two Hundred Pages" was released, with the arrival of Raphaël Gazal, a Brazilian singer who has to his credit a number of participations in metal bands (Pastore, Leviathan... ).

As we know, the neo genre has its followers and its detractors. The former appreciate the melodic approach of a music seeking evolution, the latter are exasperated by a genre that according to them goes around in circles in stereotyped codes and carcans, not renewing a style that has little more to say. And it's true that Crayon Phase can easily be ed among the neo English bands, in the middle of IQ, Arena and Pendragon: the use of synths, the swirling bass and the constant melodic research bring it closer to these bands. Crayon Phase uses all the neo markers: breaks ('Salvation'), instrumental passages carefully alternating keyboards and guitars, extended tracks (except the prologue and the conclusion, all the tracks are longer than 8 minutes), until the theme cover of the last track to seal the concept-album, all the clichés are well gathered.

Still, it's all pretty well done and the band knows how to reuse well-known patterns to conceive tracks that manage to carry the listener away very efficiently. Far from staying in sweetness, the band knows how to energize its music, spicing up its words with double pedal strokes or a nice bass presence (nice line on 'Salvation'), or even electro points in tracks without any dead time, always evolving, maintaining a constant attention. Raphaël Gazal's work is no stranger to this, his diversified vocals can go from a very neo tone (and in these moments, his timbre reminds us of Mark Smit, ex-singer of Knight Area) to a more raucous / scoundrel style ('Procession') where the metal influence is quite perceptible.  

Tracks like 'Paralysed' or 'Retrospective' are thus frankly successful in the dynamic neo-progressive genre. A small reproach however, the instrumental density of the whole would have required some pauses (the acoustic opening of 'Retrospective' is good!); a slight drawback that we can find in some Pendragon albums ("Not of This World", as copious as this "Two Hundred Pages" which is more than 77 minutes long!). 

The tendency being to shorten the length of the albums, let's bet that Crayon Phase will erase this slight drawback in the future. In the meantime, let's hope that neo fans won't hesitate to dive into this opus which, if it doesn't create any surprise, represents very generously its style!

More informations on https://www.crayon-phase.de/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

ARENA, PENDRAGON, IQ, NO NAME, KNIGHT AREA

TRACK LISTING

01. Prologue - 3:14
02. Two hundred pages - 11:39
03. Turn of fortune - 9:48
04. Procession / Empty grave - 10:01
05. Paralyzed - 9:23
06. The music box - 8:43
07. Retrospective - 12:21
08. Salvation - 8:52
09. 201 - 1:07


LINEUP

Arne Gröschel: Batterie
Frank Wendel: Chant / Claviers
Peter Damm: Basse
Raphael Gazal: Chant
Wolfgang Bähr: Guitares / Basse


TAGS:
Neo
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS CRAYON PHASE
 
RATING
 
3.3/5 (3 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS CRAYON PHASE
 
CRAYON-PHASE_Two-Hundred-Pages Two Hundred Pages (2019)
GENTLE ART OF MUSIC / PROGRESSIVE ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

ARTISTE:

CRAYON PHASE

(ALLEMAGNE)
TITRE:

TWO HUNDRED PAGES

(2019)
LABEL:

GENTLE ART OF MUSIC

GENRE:

ROCK PROGRESSIF

TAGS:
Neo
"Crayon Phase ne renouvelle pas le néo-prog mais sait intelligemment en utiliser les codes pour produire un opus dynamique."
ABADDON (14.01.2020)  
4/5
(0) Avis des lecteurs (0) commentaire(s)

Fondé en 2008 et déjà fort d’un premier album ("Within My Recollection", 2013), le quartette allemand Crayon Phase officie dans un style néo-progressif dynamique. La quête d’un chanteur pour son nouveau projet a pris un certain temps, et c’est seulement six années plus tard que paraît "Two Hundred Pages" avec l’arrivée au micro de Raphaël Gazal, chanteur... brésilien, qui a à son actif nombre de participations dans des groupes metal (Pastore, Léviathan... ).

On le sait, le genre néo a ses adeptes et ses détracteurs. Les premiers apprécient l’approche mélodique d’une musique cherchant les évolutions, les seconds sont exaspérés par un genre qui selon eux tourne en rond dans des codes et des carcans stéréotypés, ne renouvelant pas un style qui n’a plus grand-chose à dire. Et il est vrai que Crayon Phase peut aisément être inséré parmi les groupes de néo anglais, au milieu des IQ, Arena et autres Pendragon : l’utilisation copieuse des synthés, la basse tournoyante et la recherche mélodique constante le rapprochent de ces groupes. Crayon Phase use de tous les marqueurs néo : breaks à foison (‘Salvation’), passages instrumentaux alternant soigneusement les claviers et les guitares, titres à rallonge (à part le prologue et la conclusion, tous les titres dépassent les 8 minutes), jusqu’à la reprise de thème de l’ultime morceau pour bien sceller le concept-album, tous les clichés sont bien réunis.

N’empêche...

Il n’empêche que tout ça est sacrément bien foutu et que le groupe sait réutiliser des patrons connus pour concevoir des morceaux qui ont de le gueule et qui parviennent très efficacement à emporter l’auditeur. Loin de se confire dans des partitions sucrées, le groupe sait dynamiser sa musique, épiçant son propos de touches de double pédale ou de belle présence de la basse (jolie ligne porteuse sur ‘Salvation’), voire de points electro dans des titres sans aucun temps mort, toujours en évolution, maintenant une attention constante. Le travail de Raphaël Gazal n’y est pas étranger, son chant diversifié peut passer d’un ton très néo (et dans ces moments, son timbre n’est pas sans rappeler Mark Smit, ex-chanteur de Knight Area) à un style plus rauque / plus canaille (‘Procession’) où l’influence metal est bien perceptible.  

Des titres comme ‘Paralysed’ ou ‘Retrospective’ sont ainsi de franches réussites dans le genre néo-progressif dynamique. Un petit reproche toutefois, la densité instrumentale de l’ensemble aurait réclamé quelques pauses (l’entame acoustique de ‘Retrospective’ fait du bien !) ; un léger inconvénient que l’on retrouve d’ailleurs dans certains albums de Pendragon ("Not of This World", copieux au même titre que ce "Two Hundred Pages" qui dépasse les 77 minutes !).

La tendance étant au raccourcissement de la durée des albums, gageons que Crayon Phase gommera ce léger travers dans l’avenir. En attendant, que les amateurs de néo n’hésitent pas à se plonger dans cet opus qui, s’il ne crée pas de surprise, représente très généreusement son style !


Plus d'information sur https://www.crayon-phase.de/



GROUPES PROCHES:
IQ, NO NAME, ARENA, PENDRAGON, KNIGHT AREA


LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Prologue - 3:14
02. Two hundred pages - 11:39
03. Turn of fortune - 9:48
04. Procession / Empty grave - 10:01
05. Paralyzed - 9:23
06. The music box - 8:43
07. Retrospective - 12:21
08. Salvation - 8:52
09. 201 - 1:07

FORMATION:
Arne Gröschel: Batterie
Frank Wendel: Chant / Claviers
Peter Damm: Basse
Raphael Gazal: Chant
Wolfgang Bähr: Guitares / Basse
   
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS    
Haut de page
   
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)    
 
 
Haut de page
LECTEURS:
4/5 (1 avis)
STAFF:
3.3/5 (3 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
LOFOFORA: Vanités (2019)
HEAVY METAL - Lofofora est de retour à l'électrique pour un "Vanités" de grande qualité, à la fois puissant, revendicatif et mélancolique.
SERIOUS BLACK: Suite 226 (2020)
METAL MELODIQUE - Encore un album de haute tenue pour Serious Black !
 
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2021