MW / Home / Reviews / DELAIN: Apocalypse And Chill
BAND/AUTHOR:

DELAIN

(NETHERLANDS)

TITLE:
APOCALYPSE AND CHILL
RELEASE DATE:
2020
LABEL:
NAPALM RECORDS
GENRE:
MELODIC METAL
"Combining power and melody, but also conceptual ambitions and an easy listening approach to the melodies, "Apocalypse And Chill" hit a big blow that should propel "Delain" to the front row of the stage."
LYNOTT - 23.01.2020 -
The Dutch band Delain finally come back to us in this year 2020 with a new album in their suitcases. Even if the live "A Decade Of Delain: Live In ParadIso" and the EP "Hunter's Moon" have made us wait, it's four years that separate us from the excellent "Moonbathers". For about ten years, and the release of their second and remarkable opus "April Rain", the band try to reach the level of the indestructible Within Temptation. Together, these two bands gather almost all the fans of symphonic metal with a pop tendency, led by a lady. 

According to its creators, this record should surprise the fans so much it's full of new inspirations. Indeed, the regulars will notice some differences separating "Apocalypse & Chill" from its predecessors: some atmospheric passages more marked, a more sustained orchestration of the compositions and intentions tending to leave more room to the instrumental parts. As a result, the enrichment of the structures is notable, they are now closer to what Nightwish proposes. Delain's new opus is thus more ambitious, more mature, more complex and richer than his older brothers. Gone is the image of a band of followers, the Dutch now show their ambitions: to surpass the master! And if you think about it, considering that "Apocalypse & Chill" dames the pawn to the recent "Resist" of Within Temptation doesn't seem absurd. 

Besides, Delain stands out from its colleague by opting for a more assertive brutality, a tendency to propose darker ambiences. This new work is a dystopia: it is about imminent disaster and the indifference of men. It is full of abrupt riffs and heavy atmospheres emanating from the keyboards. Charlotte Wessels has gained confidence again. Her powerful voice, which can easily cover an astonishing range of tessitura, reinforces the dimension of the words. Guided by a wish to compensate and to lighten the work, the emphatic melodies that sprinkle the compositions make them very addictive. Thus, inevitably "Apocalypse & Chill" becomes a factory of hits. 

The galvanizing tracks follow one another without any lack of taste. They can sometimes be borderline to dance (the chorus and the pop choruses of 'Let's Dance'), close to Within Temptation ('One Second' with its powerful male vocals), mixing aerial pop and symphonic metal ('We Had Everything') or flirting with Amaranth (the powerful 'Burning Bridges'). The compositions can also remind of Kamelot - here fighting with Nightwish - (the very promising 'Vengeance' and his symphonic-lyrical choir), or Rammstein who would have taken a pop shot ('To Live Is To Die'), or even mix telluric overpowering power and aerial melodies ('Creatures' and 'Legions Of The Lost' and their Therion-like ambiences and the sensational 'Master Of Destiny'). They are even able to diffuse atmospheric (the magnificent 'Ghost House Heart') or progressive (the roller coaster of the very instrumental 'Combustion') fragrances.

With this 'Apocalypse & Chill', Delain has just pulled off the perfect stroke. Combining power and melody, but also conceptual ambitions and an easy listening approach to the melodies, the Dutch hit here a big blow that should propel them to the front row of the stage. 

More informations on http://site.delain.nl/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

WITHIN TEMPTATION, NIGHTWISH

TRACK LISTING

01. One Second - 3:37
02. We Had Everything - 4:08
03. Chemical Redemption - 4:39
04. Burning Bridges - 4:14
05. Vengeance - 4:52
06. To Live Is To Die - 3:47
07. Let's Dance - 4:07
08. Creatures - 3:39
09. Ghost House Heart - 2:59
10. Masters Of Destiny - 4:53
11. Legions Of The Lost - 5:17
12. The Greatest Escape - 4:26
13. Combustion - 5:25


LINEUP

Charlotte Wessels: Chant
Joey Marin De Boer: Batterie
Martijn Westerholt : Claviers
Otto "The Baron" Schimmelpenninck: Basse
Timo Somers: Guitares


TAGS:
Easy Listening / FM, Symphonic, Theatrical, Female voice
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS DELAIN
LAST NEWS
DELAIN: Apocalypse And Chill
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about DELAIN
 
RATING
 
4.3/5 (3 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS DELAIN
 
DELAIN_Apocalypse-and-Chill Apocalypse And Chill (2020)
NAPALM RECORDS / MELODIC METAL
DELAIN_Hunter-s-Moon Hunter's Moon (2019)
NAPALM RECORDS / MELODIC METAL
DELAIN_Moonbathers Moonbathers (2016)
NAPALM RECORDS / MELODIC METAL
DELAIN_The-Human-Contradiction The Human Contradiction (2014)
NAPALM RECORDS / MELODIC METAL
DELAIN_We-Are-The-Others We Are The Others (2012)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / MELODIC HARD ROCK
DELAIN_April-Rain April Rain (2009)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / MELODIC METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / DELAIN: Apocalypse And Chill
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

DELAIN

(HOLLANDE)

TITRE:
APOCALYPSE AND CHILL
ANNEE PARUTION:
2020
LABEL:
NAPALM RECORDS
GENRE:
METAL MELODIQUE
"Combinant puissance et mélodie, mais aussi ambitions conceptuelles et facilité d'écoute, "Apocalypse And Chill" est un superbe album de métal symphonique qui devrait propulser Delain dans les premiers rangs du genre."
LYNOTT - 23.01.2020 -
Les Hollandais de Delain nous reviennent enfin en cette année 2020 avec un nouvel album dans leurs suitcases. Enfin car -même si le live "A Decade Of Delain : Live In ParadIso" et l'EP "Hunter's Moon" avaient pu nous faire patienter- ce sont bien quatre ans qui nous séparent de l'excellent "Moonbathers". Depuis une dizaine d'années, et la sortie de son deuxième et remarquable opus "April Rain", le groupe mordille les mollets de l’indétrônable Within Temptation. Ces formations engloutissent à elles deux la quasi-totalité des préférences des adeptes de metal symphonique à tendance pop, mené par une lady.

Comme le suggère l'artwork de cette sixième production (détente et brasier), Delain nous proposerait-il ici une œuvre ambivalente, multi-influencée ? A écouter ses protagonistes, ce disque devrait surprendre les fans tant il regorge d'inspirations nouvelles. Les habitués pourront en effet remarquer quelques différences séparant "Apocalypse & Chill" de ses prédécesseurs : quelques passages atmosphériques plus marqués, une orchestration des compositions plus soutenue et des intentions tendant à laisser plus de place aux parties instrumentales. De ce fait, l'enrichissement des structures est notable ; elles se rapprochent désormais davantage de ce que propose Nightwish . Ce nouvel opus de Delain est ainsi plus ambitieux, plus mature, plus complexe et plus riche que ses frères aînés. Exit l'image de groupe de suiveurs, les Hollandais affichent désormais leurs ambitions : dépasser le maître ! Et à y bien réfléchir, considérer qu'"Apocalypse & Chill" dame le pion au récent "Resist" de Within Temptation ne semble pas saugrenu.

Par ailleurs, Delain se démarque de son confrère en optant pour une brutalité plus affirmée, une tendance à proposer des ambiances plus sombres. Cette nouvelle œuvre est une dystopie : il y est question de désastre imminent et de l'indifférence des hommes. Elle est remplie de riffs abrupts et d'atmosphères pesantes émanant des claviers. Charlotte Wessels a encore pris de l'assurance. Sa voix puissante, qui arpente aisément une étonnante gamme de tessitures, renforce la dimension trempée des propos. Guidées par un souhait de compensation et afin d'alléger l’œuvre, les mélodies emplies d'emphase qui parsèment les compositions portent celles-ci vers des sommets addictifs remarquables. Ainsi, inévitablement "Apocalypse & Chill" devient une usine à hits.

Les morceaux galvanisants s'enchaînent dès lors sans faute de goût. Ils peuvent parfois s'avérer limite dansants (le refrain et ses chœurs pop de 'Let's Dance'), tutoyer Within Temptation ('One Second' et ses vocaux masculins puissants), entremêler pop aérienne et metal symphonique ('We Had Everything') ou flirter avec Amaranthe (le puissant 'Burning Bridges'). Les compositions peuvent également rappeler Kamelot - guerroyant ici avec Nightwish - (le très porteur 'Vengeance' et sa chorale symphonico-lyrique), ou Rammstein qui aurait pris un shoot de pop ('To Live Is To Die'), voire mêler surpuissance tellurique et mélodies aériennes ('Creatures' et 'Legions Of The Lost' et leurs ambiances à la Therion et le sensationnel 'Master Of Destiny'). Elles sont même enfin capables de diffuser des effluves atmosphériques (le magnifique 'Ghost House Heart') ou progressives (les montagnes russes du très instrumental 'Combustion').

Avec cet "Apocalypse & Chill", Delain vient de réussir le coup parfait. Combinant puissance et mélodie, mais également ambitions conceptuelles et approche easy listening des mélopées, les Hollandais frappent ici un grand coup qui devrait les propulser aux toutes premières loges du devant de la scène.

Plus d'information sur http://site.delain.nl/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
WITHIN TEMPTATION, NIGHTWISH

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. One Second - 3:37
02. We Had Everything - 4:08
03. Chemical Redemption - 4:39
04. Burning Bridges - 4:14
05. Vengeance - 4:52
06. To Live Is To Die - 3:47
07. Let's Dance - 4:07
08. Creatures - 3:39
09. Ghost House Heart - 2:59
10. Masters Of Destiny - 4:53
11. Legions Of The Lost - 5:17
12. The Greatest Escape - 4:26
13. Combustion - 5:25


FORMATION:
Charlotte Wessels: Chant
Joey Marin De Boer: Batterie
Martijn Westerholt : Claviers
Otto "The Baron" Schimmelpenninck: Basse
Timo Somers: Guitares


TAGS:
Accessible / FM, Symphonique, Théatral, Chant féminin
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC DELAIN
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
DELAIN: Nouvelle vidéo
VIDEO

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant DELAIN
 
DERNIER ARTICLE
Nous avons rendez-vous en ce samedi au Splendid lillois pour une soirée métallique variée avec en point d'orgue la venue de Delain.

Lire l'article
Voir tous les articles concernant DELAIN
 
NOTES
 
4.3/5 (3 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT DELAIN
 
DELAIN_Apocalypse-and-Chill Apocalypse And Chill (2020)
NAPALM RECORDS / METAL MELODIQUE
DELAIN_Hunter-s-Moon Hunter's Moon (2019)
NAPALM RECORDS / METAL MELODIQUE
DELAIN_Moonbathers Moonbathers (2016)
NAPALM RECORDS / METAL MELODIQUE
DELAIN_The-Human-Contradiction The Human Contradiction (2014)
NAPALM RECORDS / METAL MELODIQUE
DELAIN_We-Are-The-Others We Are The Others (2012)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
DELAIN_April-Rain April Rain (2009)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / METAL MELODIQUE
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020