MW / Home / Reviews / SERIOUS BLACK: Suite 226
BAND/AUTHOR:

SERIOUS BLACK

(GERMANY)

TITLE:
SUITE 226
RELEASE DATE:
2020
LABEL:
AFM RECORDS
GENRE:
MELODIC METAL
"Mixing a lot of influences like Judas Priest, Helloween or Place Vandome, Serious Black offers us once again a new hit!"
LYNOTT - 14.01.2020 -
It's been 18 months since Urban Breed's band - ex Bloodbound's singer - had not gratified us with a production. It's not that we were worried, but force of habit had led us to enjoy his inspiration every twelve months. So let's just say we were bordering on impatience. We are therefore very satisfied to see "Suite 226", the fourth opus of the germans. 

The hundred or so concerts given all over the world in the last few years demonstrate the growing fame of Serious Black. The band is on its way, as evidenced by the construction of its own studio, to make a successful entry into the microcosm of best melodic metal combos. "Suite 226", a new concept album, should allow them to push the envelope, provided it is as successful as their elder brother, the much-loved "Magic". 

It's about a man confronted with his delusions - he thinks he's sovereign in a medieval fortress - in room 226 of a psychiatric hospital with inhuman methods. Here is a character that fits perfectly with the sweet madness of an Urban Breed who is more and more possessed by the role of Mr. Loyal that he has been developing since the previous album. Since this work, he has lost his original keyboards companion (not replaced) and one of his guitarists (not replaced either) along the way. The sextet has thus become a quartet. 

On this new opus, Serious Black mixes influences, while keeping its own characteristics: addictive melodies and intermittently catchy and muscular guitars. In 'Way Back Home', we cross paths with Thin Lizzy at the beginning of the album, and Iron Maiden on the recurring theme of the guitars of 'We Still Stand Tall'. There is also Judas Priest on the riffs of 'Castiel' and the verses of 'Let It Go', while the flashes of Helloween titillate us on his chorus and on 'When The Stars Are Right'. Vanden Plas comes to visit us on the ballad 'Come Home' and 'Fate Of All Humanity' reminds us Place Vendome. The band reach its peak with the magnificent 'Solitude Etude' and the eponymous ten-minute track of this 'Suite 226'. 

Serious Black, once again, has just made a hit with this new opus. It's a good bet that it has now found its place in the closed circle of melodic metal bands that count. After four highly successful albums, he certainly deserves this honor today.

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/seriousblackofficial/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

FIREWIND, MASTERPLAN

TRACK LISTING

01. Let It Go
02. When The Stars Are Right
03. Solitude Etude
04. Fate Of All Humanity
05. Castiel
06. Heaven Shall Burn
07. Way Back Home
08. We Still Stand Tall
09. Come Home
10. Suite 226


LINEUP

Dominik Sebastian: Guitares
Mario Lochert: Basse
Ramy Ali: Batterie
Urban Breed: Chant


TAGS:
Easy Listening / FM
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS SERIOUS BLACK
LAST NEWS
SERIOUS BLACK: Suite 226
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about SERIOUS BLACK
 
RATING
 
4/5 (3 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS SERIOUS BLACK
 
SERIOUS-BLACK_Suite-226 Suite 226 (2020)
AFM RECORDS / MELODIC METAL
SERIOUS-BLACK_Magic Magic (2017)
AFM RECORDS / MELODIC METAL
SERIOUS-BLACK_Mirrorworld Mirrorworld (2016)
AFM RECORDS / MELODIC METAL
SERIOUS-BLACK_As-Daylight-Breaks As Daylight Breaks (2015)
AFM RECORDS / MELODIC METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / SERIOUS BLACK: Suite 226
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

SERIOUS BLACK

(ALLEMAGNE)

TITRE:
SUITE 226
ANNEE PARUTION:
2020
LABEL:
AFM RECORDS
GENRE:
METAL MELODIQUE
"Encore un album de haute tenue pour Serious Black !"
LYNOTT - 14.01.2020 -
Nom de code : Serious Black. Année de mise en activité : 2014. Missions réussies : "As Daylight Breaks" (2015), "Mirrorworld" (2016) et "Magic" (2017). Profil : metal mélodique allemand. Armes de prédilection : guitares accrocheuses et refrains bigger than life. Nouvelle mission (si elle est acceptée) : réussir un nouvel album de haute volée. Nom de code de l’opération : "Suite 226".

Voilà 18 mois que le groupe d’Urban Breed - l’ex-hurleur de Bloodbound - ne nous avait pas gratifiés d’une production. Ce n’est pas que nous nous inquiétions, mais la force de l’habitude nous avait amenés à profiter de son inspiration tous les douze mois. Alors disons que nous frisions l’impatience. Nous voilà donc fort satisfaits de voir débouler sur nos platines ce "Suite 226", quatrième opus des Germains.

La centaine de concerts donnés dans le monde entier ces dernières années démontre la notoriété grandissante de Serious Black. Le groupe est en passe, comme en témoigne la construction de son propre studio, de réussir son entrée dans le microcosme des combos de metal mélodique ayant pignon sur rue. "Suite 226", nouveau concept album, devrait leur permettre d’enfoncer le clou, pour peu qu’il soit autant réussi que son frère aîné, le très apprécié "Magic".

Il est ici question d'un homme confronté à ses délires - il se croit souverain dans une forteresse médiévale - dans la chambre 226 d’un hôpital psychiatrique aux méthodes inhumaines. Voilà bien un personnage qui sied à merveille à la douce folie d’un Urban Breed de plus en plus possédé par le rôle de Monsieur Loyal qu’il développe depuis l'album précédent. Depuis cette œuvre il a perdu en chemin son compagnon de claviers des origines (non remplacé) et un de ses guitaristes (non remplacé lui non plus). Le sextet est ainsi devenu un quartet.

Sur ce nouvel opus, Serious Black mélange les influences, tout en conservant les caractéristiques qui lui sont propres, soit des mélodies addictives et des guitares entraînantes et musclées par intermittence. On croise ainsi au détour de 'Way Back Home' Thin Lizzy sur l'entrée en matière, et Iron Maiden sur le thème récurrent des guitares de 'We Still Stand Tall'. Il est également question de Judas Priest sur les riffs de 'Castiel' et les couplets de 'Let It Go', alors que des fulgurances d'Helloween nous titillent sur son refrain et à l'écoute de 'When The Stars Are Right'. Vanden Plas vient quant à lui nous rendre une petite visite sur la ballade 'Come Home' et Place Vendome se rappelle à nous tout au long de 'Fate Of All Humanity'. Tous ces titres vous accompagneront sous la douche où vous pourrez jouer de l'air-micro, le groupe atteignant son apogée avec les magnifiques 'Solitude Etude' et le titre éponyme de près de dix minutes de ce "Suite 226".

Serious Black, une fois de plus, vient de réussir son coup sur ce nouvel opus. Il y a fort à parier qu'il ait désormais trouvé sa place dans le cercle fermé des groupes de metal mélodique qui comptent. Après quatre albums de haute tenue, il mérite assurément aujourd'hui cette distinction honorifique.

Plus d'information sur https://www.facebook.com/seriousblackofficial/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
FIREWIND, MASTERPLAN

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Let It Go
02. When The Stars Are Right
03. Solitude Etude
04. Fate Of All Humanity
05. Castiel
06. Heaven Shall Burn
07. Way Back Home
08. We Still Stand Tall
09. Come Home
10. Suite 226


FORMATION:
Dominik Sebastian: Guitares
Mario Lochert: Basse
Ramy Ali: Batterie
Urban Breed: Chant


TAGS:
Accessible / FM
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC SERIOUS BLACK
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
SERIOUS BLACK: Les détails sur le nouvel album 'Suite 226'
SORTIE

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant SERIOUS BLACK
 
DERNIER ARTICLE
Rencontre magique avec Mr Nightmist qui nous présente le nouvel album de Serious Black..

Lire l'article
Voir tous les articles concernant SERIOUS BLACK
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (3 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT SERIOUS BLACK
 
SERIOUS-BLACK_Suite-226 Suite 226 (2020)
AFM RECORDS / METAL MELODIQUE
SERIOUS-BLACK_Magic Magic (2017)
AFM RECORDS / METAL MELODIQUE
SERIOUS-BLACK_Mirrorworld Mirrorworld (2016)
AFM RECORDS / METAL MELODIQUE
SERIOUS-BLACK_As-Daylight-Breaks As Daylight Breaks (2015)
AFM RECORDS / METAL MELODIQUE
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020