BAND/AUTHOR:

AFTER THE BURIAL

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
EVERGREEN (2019)
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
METALCORE / DJENT

"Endowed with a hyper modern and almost clinical production in the purest djent tradition, "Evergreen" is an album with a formidable efficiency that it's very difficult to take in default."
NEWF - 09.01.2020 - (0) minds from our readers - (2) comment(s)
4/5
Here, take this in the gums! After The Burial is still alive, still standing and still green! Yet no one was giving much of the band's skin after the tragic death of its founder Justin Lowe in 2015. "Dig Deep", released the following year, sounded like a farewell and a tribute to the schizophrenic guitarist, who had participated in most of the composition of the album before he suddenly and inexplicably bowed out at the age of only 32. But after fifteen years of existence, more than ten of which were spent carrying the djent banner within the Sumerian Records label, After The Burial couldn't leave the stage and leave its fans orphaned, greedy for the djent sauce metalcore fireworks that Americans have the secret. And the least we can say is that with this new album, "Evergreen", After The Burial proves to them that, despite the tragedies and the repeated line-up changes, he doesn't intend to put gloom in his music.

From the very first track, 'Behold The Crown', the band is already showing its true colours. Do you want djentcore that kicks ass? You'll get it. And damn good djentcore. Huge riffs, artificial harmonics, screaming vocals, a smashing djent rhythm, a sharp guitar solo, all the ingredients of After The Burial's music are here, not to mention the brat humor that distinguishes the Minneapolis kids from their counterparts Meshuggah and Periphery and makes them so endearing. The video clip of 'Behold The Crown', which shows Vikings fighting each other with snowballs, is a great demonstration of the typical jokes of this band.

"Evergreen' chains the uppercuts with murderous riffs ('Exit, Exist', 'A Pulse Exchanged') and dissonances ('In Flux') and prevents him from adjusting his guard because, Despite the violence and brutality of the blows, After The Burial sometimes lets it breathe during short atmospheric passages ('In Flux', 'Quicksand') and never neglects the melody ('Breathe', 'The Great Repeat'). The work of Trent Hafdahl, now alone at the helm of the guitars, is particularly remarkable, especially on the impressive '11/26' which perfectly fuses a fearsome deathcore rhythm and a melodic and inspired progressive djent.

Endowed with a hyper modern and almost clinical production in the purest djent tradition, "Evergreen" is an album with a formidable efficiency that it's very difficult to take in default, except Anthony Notarmaso's vocals which are not full of nuances, at the risk of becoming monotonous on the long run. Nevertheless, straddling between a metalcore scene that often cultivates mediocrity and a djent scene that takes itself far too seriously, After The Burial succeeds like nobody else in combining heaviness and lightness for our greatest pleasure. Considering the ordeals the band has managed to go through, it's all to its credit.

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/aftertheburial



SIMILAR BANDS:
BORN OF OSIRIS, LONE SURVIVORS, PERIPHERY, MESHUGGAH

TRACK LISTING:
01. Behold the Crown - 4:34
02. Exit, Exist - 3:55
03. 11/26 - 5:08
04. In Flux - 6:05
05. Respire - 4:39
06. Quicksand - 4:14
07. The Great Repeat - 3:34
08. To Challenge Existence - 3:34
09. A Pulse Exchanged - 4:19


LINEUP:
Adrian Oropeza: Basse
Anthony Notarmaso: Chant
Dan Carle: Batterie
Trent Hafdahl: Guitares


TAGS:
Fusion, Groovy, Heavy, Technical, Yelled sing
 
 
(0) MIND(S) FROM OUR READERS
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Top of the page
(2) COMMENT(S)
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
TORPEDO - 10/01/2020 08:34:18
0
Un uppercut dans le plexus solaire ? Et pourquoi pas un low kick dans la face ? ;-P
Top of the page
IN RELATION WITH AFTER THE BURIAL
RATING
- /5 (0 view(s)) 4/5 (2 view(s))
MY RATE:
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
PREVIOUS REVIEW
TANKRUST: Opposite Terror (2019)
DEATH METAL After an album that seemed rigid, TankrusT produces an intense and controlled "Opposite Terror" in death/thrash genre.
 
NEXT REVIEW
SYR DARIA: Tears Of A Clown (2019)
HEAVY METAL Close to Iced Earth or Megadeth, 'Tears Of A Clown' shows a beautiful ease with heavy tracks that are both powerful and catchy.
STREAMING
 
 
OTHER(S) REVIEWS ABOUT AFTER THE BURIAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / AFTER THE BURIAL: Evergreen
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

AFTER THE BURIAL

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
EVERGREEN
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
METALCORE / DJENT
""Evergreen" est un brûlot djentcore d’une efficacité redoutable. After The Burial est loin d’avoir dit son dernier mot."
NEWF - 09.01.2020 -
Tenez, prenez ça dans les gencives ! After The Burial est toujours vivant, toujours debout et toujours vert ! Pourtant personne ne donnait cher de la peau du groupe après le décès tragique de son fondateur Justin Lowe en 2015. "Dig Deep", paru l’année suivante, sonnait comme un adieu et un hommage au guitariste schizophrène, qui avait participé à l’essentiel de la composition de l’album avant de tirer sa révérence de façon aussi soudaine qu’inexplicable à seulement 32 ans. Mais après quinze ans d’existence, dont plus de dix passés à porter l’étendard djent au sein du label Sumerian Records, After The Burial ne pouvait pas quitter la scène en laissant orphelins ses fans avides des brûlots metalcore à la sauce djent dont les Américains ont le secret. Et le moins que l’on puisse dire, c’est qu’avec ce nouvel album, "Evergreen", After The Burial leur prouve que, malgré les tragédies et les changements de line-up à répétition, il n’a pas l’intention de mettre de la morosité dans sa musique.

Dès le premier titre, ‘Behold The Crown’, le groupe annonce la couleur. Vous voulez du djentcore qui tabasse ? Vous allez en avoir. Et du sacrément bon. Riff énorme, harmoniques artificielles, chant hurlé, rythmique djent fracassante, solo de guitare tranchant, tous les ingrédients de la musique d’After The Burial sont ici réunis, sans oublier cet humour de sales gosses qui distinguent les kids de Minneapolis de leurs homologues Meshuggah et Periphery et les rendent si attachants. Le clip de ‘Behold The Crown’ qui montre des Vikings s’affronter à coups de boules de neige est une belle démonstration de farce potache.

"Evergreen" enchaîne les uppercuts dans le plexus solaire de l’auditeur à grands coups de riffs assassins (‘Exit, Exist’, ‘A Pulse Exchanged’) et de dissonances (‘In Flux’) et l’empêche d’ajuster sa garde car, malgré la violence et la brutalité des coups portés, After The Burial le laisse parfois souffler lors de brefs passages atmosphériques (‘In Flux’, ‘Quicksand’) et ne néglige jamais la mélodie (‘Respire’, ‘The Great Repeat’). Le travail de Trent Hafdahl, maintenant seul aux commandes des guitares, est à ce titre particulièrement remarquable, notamment sur l’impressionnant ‘11/26’ qui fusionne à la perfection une rythmique deathcore redoutable et un djent progressif mélodique et inspiré.

Doté d’une production hyper moderne et presque clinique dans la plus pure tradition djent, "Evergreen" est un album à l’efficacité redoutable qu’il est bien difficile de prendre en défaut, mis à part le chant d’Anthony Notarmaso qui ne s’encombre pas de nuances, au risque de devenir monotone sur la durée. Il n’empêche que, à cheval entre une scène metalcore qui cultive souvent la médiocrité et une scène djent qui se prend beaucoup trop au sérieux, After The Burial réussit comme personne à conjuguer lourdeur et légèreté pour notre plus grand plaisir. Vues les épreuves que le groupe a réussi à traverser, c’est tout à son honneur.

Plus d'information sur https://www.facebook.com/aftertheburial

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
MESHUGGAH, BORN OF OSIRIS, PERIPHERY, LONE SURVIVORS

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Behold the Crown - 4:34
02. Exit, Exist - 3:55
03. 11/26 - 5:08
04. In Flux - 6:05
05. Respire - 4:39
06. Quicksand - 4:14
07. The Great Repeat - 3:34
08. To Challenge Existence - 3:34
09. A Pulse Exchanged - 4:19


FORMATION:
Adrian Oropeza: Basse
Anthony Notarmaso: Chant
Dan Carle: Batterie
Trent Hafdahl: Guitares


TAGS:
Fusion, Groovy, Lourde, Technique, Chant hurlé
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
productionuser_idproduction_comment_id
TORPEDO - 10/01/2020 08:34:18
Un uppercut dans le plexus solaire ? Et pourquoi pas un low kick dans la face ? ;-P
2519
 com_answer_user_id

  NEWF   - 10/01/2020 09:28:11
Parce que ça fait mal aux dents.
 
EN RELATION AVEC AFTER THE BURIAL
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
AFTER THE BURIAL: Wolves Within
SORTIE

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant AFTER THE BURIAL
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (2 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT AFTER THE BURIAL
 
AFTER-THE-BURIAL_Evergreen Evergreen (2019)
AUTRE LABEL / METALCORE
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020