BAND/AUTHOR:

ALBERT CUMMINGS

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
BELIEVE (2020)
LABEL:
MASCOT LABEL GROUP
GENRE:
BLUES

""Believe" is a neat soul blues album but without much originality."
NEWF - 24.03.2020 - (0) minds from our readers - (0) comment(s)
3/5
Albert Cummings is a quiet guy. Discreet and patient. He has been building his blues career as a bluesman for over twenty years alongside his work as a carpenter. Always with a piece of wood in his hand, on stage as well as on the construction site. On stage, he expresses himself with his favourite tools, the Fender Stratocaster, which he admires without limit. Not surprising for a guitarist who fell in love with Stevie Ray Vaughan's playing in his youth. In fact, his very first solo album, "From The Heart", released in 2003, was produced by the Double Trouble, the rhythm section of the Texan genius. Since then, Albert Cummings has been charting his own course and has gained recognition from his peers, if not from the general public. It will perhaps come with his seventh opus, "Believe", which is being released by Mascot, a great first for the American.

"Believe" starts off strong, with a cover inspired by the Sam & Dave classic 'Hold On'. Generous horns, gospel choirs and a tense guitar solo, the track offers a great introduction to the world of Albert Cummings, between soul and blues. The album ends just as well with a funky version of Freddie King's 'Me And My Guitar', with a sharp guitar sound and a perfectly mastered groove.

And in the middle, stuck between these two successes, flows an extremely classical blues river, well interpreted but without any real added value. The album alternates covers and original tracks. The production is very clean, too much to highlight the blues soul of Albert Cummings. The covers of Willie Dixon's 'Red Rooster' or Van Morrison's 'Crazy Love' are good examples of a work so neat that it becomes bland. The same goes for the songs composed by Cummings himself, which illustrate an assumed but rather vain classicism ('Queen Of Mean', 'It's All Good', 'Going My Way'). Only 'Call Me Crazy' is really good thanks to its catchy riff and dissonant solo, proof that Albert Cummings knows how to get out of his comfort zone when he wants to.

"Believe" is a neat soul blues album without much originality. Although Albert Cummings' talents as a singer and guitarist are obvious, he still has to show his blues soul to finally stand out from the pack of gifted bluesmen and show the public his real personality. Taking a little more risk would be a good start to achieve this.

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/albertcummingsmusic/



SIMILAR BANDS:
ROBERT CRAY, ERIC CLAPTON, BB KING, JIMI HENDRIX

TRACK LISTING:
01. Hold On
02. Do What Mama Says
03. Red Rooster
04. Queen Of Mean
05. Crazy Love
06. Get Out Of Here
07. My Babe
08. It's All Good
09. Going My Way
10. Call Me Crazy
11. Me And My Guitar


LINEUP:
Albert Cummings: Chant / Guitares

TAGS:
Bluesy, Groovy
 
 
(0) MIND(S) FROM OUR READERS
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Top of the page
(0) COMMENT(S)
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
No comment. Be the first to react about this review or on this production
Top of the page
IN RELATION WITH ALBERT CUMMINGS
LAST NEWS
ALBERT CUMMINGS: New song
All news about ALBERT CUMMINGS
RATING
- /5 (0 view(s)) 3/5 (1 view(s))
MY RATE:
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
PREVIOUS REVIEW
GOTTHARD: #13 (2020)
HARD ROCK "#13", Gotthard's new opus, would be great if half the tracks weren't average.
 
NEXT REVIEW
GRAND DESIGN: V (2020)
MELODIC HARD ROCK A nostalgic immersion between Def Leppard and Heavy Pettin', this "V" spreads a communicative enthusiasm.
STREAMING
 
 
OTHER(S) REVIEWS ABOUT ALBERT CUMMINGS
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

GROUPE/AUTEUR:

ALBERT CUMMINGS

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
BELIEVE (2020)
LABEL:
MASCOT LABEL GROUP
GENRE:
BLUES

""Believe" est un album soul blues soigné mais sans grande originalité."
NEWF - 24.03.2020 - (0) Avis des lecteurs - (0) commentaire(s)
3/5
Albert Cummings est un gars discret. Discret et patient. Voilà plus de vingt ans qu’il construit sa carrière de bluesman en parallèle de son métier de charpentier. Toujours un morceau de bois à la main, sur scène comme sur les chantiers. Sur scène, il s’exprime avec ses outils de prédilection, des Fender Stratocaster auxquelles il voue une admiration sans borne. Pas étonnant pour un guitariste tombé amoureux du jeu de Stevie Ray Vaughan dans sa jeunesse. D’ailleurs son tout premier album solo, "From The Heart", paru en 2003, a été produit par le Double Trouble, la section rythmique du génie texan. Depuis, Albert Cummings trace sa route et obtient la reconnaissance de ses pairs, à défaut d’avoir celle du grand public. Elle viendra peut-être avec ce septième opus, "Believe" qui parait chez Mascot, une grande première pour l’Américain.

"Believe" commence très fort, avec une reprise particulièrement inspirée du classique de Sam & Dave, ‘Hold On’. Cuivres généreux, chœurs gospel et solo de guitare tout en tension, le titre offre une belle entrée en matière dans l’univers d’Albert Cummings, entre soul et blues. L’album se termine tout aussi bien avec une revisite funky du ‘Me And My Guitar’ de Freddie King, avec un son de guitare incisif et un groove parfaitement maîtrisé.

Et au milieu, coincée entre ces deux réussites, coule une rivière blues extrêmement classique, bien interprétée mais sans réelle plus-value. L’album alterne reprises et morceaux originaux. La production est très propre, beaucoup trop pour mettre en valeur l’âme blues d’Albert Cummings. Les reprises de ‘Red Rooster’ de Willie Dixon ou de ‘Crazy Love’ de Van Morrison sont de bons exemples d’un travail tellement soigné qu’il en devient fade. Idem pour les titres composés par Cummings lui-même qui illustrent un classicisme assumé mais plutôt vain (‘Queen Of Mean’, ‘It’s All Good’, ‘Going My Way’). Seul ‘Call Me Crazy’ tire réellement son épingle du jeu grâce à son riff accrocheur et son solo dissonant, preuve qu’Albert Cummings sait sortir de sa zone de confort quand il le souhaite.

"Believe" est un album soul blues soigné mais sans grande originalité. Si les talents de chanteur et de guitariste d’Albert Cummings sont évidents, il lui reste à montrer son âme blues pour enfin sortir du lot des bluesmen doués et montrer au public sa réelle personnalité. Prendre un peu plus de risques serait un bon début pour y parvenir.

Plus d'information sur https://www.facebook.com/albertcummingsmusic/



GROUPES PROCHES:
ERIC CLAPTON, ROBERT CRAY, BB KING, JIMI HENDRIX

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Hold On
02. Do What Mama Says
03. Red Rooster
04. Queen Of Mean
05. Crazy Love
06. Get Out Of Here
07. My Babe
08. It's All Good
09. Going My Way
10. Call Me Crazy
11. Me And My Guitar


FORMATION:
Albert Cummings: Chant / Guitares

TAGS:
Bluesy, Groovy
 
 
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Haut de page
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
Aucun commentaire. Soyez le premier à donner votre avis sur cette chronique ou sur cette production
Haut de page
EN RELATION AVEC ALBERT CUMMINGS
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
ALBERT CUMMINGS : Nouveau morceau
Toutes les actualités sur ALBERT CUMMINGS
NOTES
- /5 (0 avis) 3/5 (1 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
CHRONIQUE PRECEDENTE
GOTTHARD: #13 (2020)
HARD ROCK "#13", nouvel opus de Gotthard, est excellent mais seulement à moitié.
 
CHRONIQUE SUIVANTE
GRAND DESIGN: V (2020)
HARD ROCK MELODIQUE Immersion nostalgique entre Def Leppard et Heavy Pettin', ce "V" propage un enthousiasme communicatif.
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT ALBERT CUMMINGS
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020