BAND/AUTHOR:

HIGHLY SUSPECT

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
MCID (2019)
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
ALTERNATIVE_ROCK

"Constructed as a kind of playlist that corresponds to the air of the time, zapping from one style to the other so as not to bore, "MCID" might seem incoherent when it's quite the opposite."
CALGEPO - 05.02.2020 - (0) minds from our readers - (0) comment(s)
4/5
In the ruthless world of music, few bands manage to make a place for themselves in the sun. Between the mainstream always heard on the radio and the underground that want to stay hidden (by definition), is there a way to exist and be heard? Highly Suspect is between these two poles: not mainstream enough to be programmed on the (European) radio waves but not underground enough to benefit from this "label". And for good reason: among all this easy listening, the band has managed for years to get several Grammy Award nominations without being able to win one. 

"MCID" is the third album of the band which continues to progress in its writing. Highly Suspect is a kind of melting pot of all that America has to offer in terms of music. Not totally alternative rock, not totally hip hop, not totally grunge or electro, the band is all at once while succeeding of being coherent. In this album, the band goes further in this experimentation by colouring it in a more electro way like in 'Fly' which welcomes the listener in a surprising way for a rock album, with notably robotic voice effects.

But Highly Suspect always puts things straight with the melancholy that characterizes it, personalized by the catharsis writing of its singer, Johnny Stevens, whose work is remarkable. '16' is the symbol of this, telling a love story that ends badly on a modern rock and electro melody draped in almost celestial choruses. And even if this numerical orientation is disconcerting, you'll be surprised to appreciate it. 

The melodic research remains at the centre of the concept of the American combo which is enriched by a new member in the person of Matt Kofos as second guitarist whose riffs are wreaking havoc in a 'Canals' more complex than it seems. The band doesn't forget their rock ambitions as in 'Upperdrugs' where the guitars are highlighted, or their typically American addiction to songwriting in the very touching 'Arizona' folk with its strings that enhance the sentimental melodic line. 

The band offers surprising featurings like with Gojira and a 'SOS' that starts out very metal and then moderates in its development after its opening rage. Highly Suspect adapts to its guests: hip hop with The Young Thug ('Tokyo Ghoul'), or power ballad rock with Nothing But Thieves ('@teddybear'). These tracks demonstrate the wide musical spectrum of the Americans, which goes beyond subversive rock and grunge with a surprisingly open mind. 

Constructed as a kind of playlist that corresponds to the air of the time, zapping from one style to the other so as not to tire, this new album might seem incoherent when it's quite the opposite. Highly Suspect has found the recipe to mix the genres and get the best out of it in a "MCID" which is the most beautiful testimony of it.

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/highlysuspect



SIMILAR BANDS:
RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS, QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE, FOO FIGHTERS, NIRVANA

TRACK LISTING:
01. Fly
02. 16
03. Freakstreet
04. Canals
05. Upperdrugs
05. Tetsuo's Bike
06. Tokyo Ghoul (feat. Young Thug)
08. Sos (feat. Gojira)
09. @tddybear (feat. Nothing But Thieves)
10. Arizona
11. Juzo
12. The Silk Road (feat. Tee Grizzley)
13. Taking Off
14. These Days
15. Snow White
16. Nairobi (outro)


LINEUP:
Johnny Stevens: Chant / Guitares / Claviers
Matt Kofos: Chant / Guitares / Claviers
Rich Meyer: Chant / Basse
Ryan Meyer: Chant / Batterie


TAGS:
90's, Acoustic, Electro, Fusion, Groovy, Indépendant, Chorus
 
 
(0) MIND(S) FROM OUR READERS
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Top of the page
(0) COMMENT(S)
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
No comment. Be the first to react about this review or on this production
Top of the page
IN RELATION WITH HIGHLY SUSPECT
LAST INTERVIEW
Grammy Award nominees are back, Highly Suspect are once again in the spotlight !

RATING
2/5 (1 view(s)) 4/5 (1 view(s))
MY RATE:
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
PREVIOUS REVIEW
QUIET RIOT: Hollywood Cowboys (2019)
HARD ROCK In spite of a good start and good intentions combined with a flawless interpretation, "Hollywood Cowboy" lacks the few ingredients necessary to a success that has been shunning the Americans for a good twenty years.
 
NEXT REVIEW
YOGI LANG: A Way Out Of Here (2019)
PROGRESSIVE ROCK Unsurprisingly and without much inspiration, "A Way Out Of Here" turns out to be quite disappointing.
STREAMING
 
 
OTHER(S) REVIEWS ABOUT HIGHLY SUSPECT
HIGHLY-SUSPECT_The-Boy-Who-Died-Wolf
The Boy Who Died Wolf (2016)
4/5
4/5
AUTRE LABEL / ALTERNATIVE_ROCK
 
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

GROUPE/AUTEUR:

HIGHLY SUSPECT

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
MCID (2019)
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
ROCK ALTERNATIF

"Construit comme une sorte de playlist qui correspond à l'air du temps, Highly Suspect a trouvé la recette pour mélanger les genres et en tirer le meilleur, "MCID" en est le plus beau témoignage."
CALGEPO - 05.02.2020 - (0) Avis des lecteurs - (0) commentaire(s)
4/5
Dans le monde impitoyable de la musique, peu de groupes arrivent à se tailler une place au soleil. Entre le mainstream qui ne cesse de passer tout le temps ou l'underground qui se complaît trop souvent à sa place sans vouloir en sortir (par définition), existe-t-il un moyen d'exister et de se faire entendre ? Highly Suspect se situe entre ces deux situations : pas assez mainstream pour être programmé sur les ondes radio (européenne) mais pas suffisamment underground pour pouvoir bénéficier de ce "label". Et pour cause : parmi tout ce easy listening, le groupe a réussi depuis des années à décrocher plusieurs nominations aux Grammy Awards sans pour autant pouvoir en gagner une.

"MCID" est le troisième album du groupe qui ne cesse de progresser dans son écriture. Highly Suspect est une sorte de melting pot de tout ce que l'Amérique propose de mieux en terme musical. Pas totalement rock alternatif, pas totalement hip hop, pas entièrement grunge ni électro, le groupe est tout à la fois tout en réussissant le tour de force d'être cohérent. Dans cet album, le groupe va plus loin dans cette expérimentation en le colorant de manière plus électro comme dans 'Fly' qui accueille l'auditeur de manière surprenante pour un album rock, avec notamment des effets de voix robotique.

Mais Highly Suspect met les choses au clair avec toujours cette mélancolie qui le caractérise, personnalisée par l'écriture catharsis de son chanteur, Johnny Stevens, dont le travail est remarquable. '16' en est le symbole, racontant une histoire d'amour qui finit mal sur une mélodie moderne rock et électro drapée dans des chœurs quasi célestes. Et même si cette orientation numérique désarçonne, on se surprend à rentrer dans le jeu.

La recherche mélodique reste au centre du concept du combo américain qui s'enrichit d'un nouveau membre en la personne de Matt Kofos en second guitariste dont les riffs font des ravages dans un 'Canals' plus complexe qu'il n'y paraît. Le groupe n'en oublie donc pas ses velléités rock comme en témoigne 'Upperdrugs' dans lequel les guitares sont mises en avant, ou son addiction typiquement américaine pour le songwriting dans le folk 'Arizona' très touchant avec ses cordes qui rehaussent la ligne mélodique sentimentale.

Le groupe sait également bien s'entourer en proposant des featurings surprenants avec Gojira dans un 'SOS' au démarrage très metal et qui se tempère dans son développement après cette rage liminaire.  Highly Suspect s'adapte à ses invités : le rock avec Gojira accompagné de ses nombreux screams, mais aussi le hip hop avec The Young Thug ('Tokyo Ghoul'), ou la power ballad rock avec Nothing But Thieves ('@teddybear'). Ces titres démontrent l'étendue du spectre musical des Américains, qui va au-delà du rock subversif et du grunge avec une ouverture d'esprit surprenante.

Construit comme une sorte de playlist qui correspond à l'air du temps, zappant d'un style à l'autre pour ne pas lasser, ce nouvel album pourrait paraître incohérent alors que c'est tout le contraire. Highly Suspect a trouvé la recette pour mélanger les genres et en tirer le meilleur dans un "MCID" qui en est le plus beau témoignage.

Plus d'information sur https://www.facebook.com/highlysuspect



GROUPES PROCHES:
RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS, QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE, FOO FIGHTERS, NIRVANA

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Fly
02. 16
03. Freakstreet
04. Canals
05. Upperdrugs
05. Tetsuo's Bike
06. Tokyo Ghoul (feat. Young Thug)
08. Sos (feat. Gojira)
09. @tddybear (feat. Nothing But Thieves)
10. Arizona
11. Juzo
12. The Silk Road (feat. Tee Grizzley)
13. Taking Off
14. These Days
15. Snow White
16. Nairobi (outro)


FORMATION:
Johnny Stevens: Chant / Guitares / Claviers
Matt Kofos: Chant / Guitares / Claviers
Rich Meyer: Chant / Basse
Ryan Meyer: Chant / Batterie


TAGS:
90's, Acoustique, Electro, Fusion, Groovy, Indépendant, Choeurs
 
 
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Haut de page
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
Aucun commentaire. Soyez le premier à donner votre avis sur cette chronique ou sur cette production
Haut de page
EN RELATION AVEC HIGHLY SUSPECT
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
HIGHLY SUSPECT ENQUETE SUR MUSIC WAVES!
Toutes les actualités sur HIGHLY SUSPECT
DERNIER ARTICLE
HIGHLY SUSPECT - LES ETOILES (PARIS) - 25 FEVRIER 2017
Pour sa première et seule date en France, Highly Suspect a pris possession de la petite salle des Étoiles et nous a proposé une soirée hyper énergique en totale communion avec un public parisien tout acquis. Music Waves ne pouvait pas manquer ce moment ! Tous les articles sur HIGHLY SUSPECT
DERNIERE INTERVIEW
Retour des multi-nommés aux Grammy Awards, Highly Suspect sur le devant de la scène

NOTES
2/5 (1 avis) 4/5 (1 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
CHRONIQUE PRECEDENTE
QUIET RIOT: Hollywood Cowboys (2019)
HARD ROCK "Hollywood Cowboys" débute bien mais s’essouffle rapidement malgré de bonnes intentions. Insuffisant pour une telle formation qui a peu de chance de retrouver son lustre d’antan sans un regain d’inspiration.
 
CHRONIQUE SUIVANTE
SPOIL ENGINE: Renaissance Noire (2019)
METALCORE Avec "Renaissance Noire", Spoil Engine signe un disque puissant et accrocheur taillant dans le meilleur du metalcore et du death mélodique.
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT HIGHLY SUSPECT
HIGHLY-SUSPECT_The-Boy-Who-Died-Wolf
The Boy Who Died Wolf (2016)
4/5
4/5
AUTRE LABEL / ROCK ALTERNATIF
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020