BAND/AUTHOR:

CONCEPTION

(NORWAY)

TITLE:
STATE OF DECEPTION (2020)
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
PROGRESSIVE METAL

"Perfect follow-up to the EP "My Dark Symphony" that we were so excited about a little more than a year ago, "State Of Deception" confirms the superb rebirth of Conception."
NUNO777 - 19.03.2020 - (0) minds from our readers - (1) comment(s)
4/5
With the release of the EP "My Dark Symphony", one of our wishes came true with the rebirth of the cult band Conception. To say that we were fulfilled when we learned about the making of the album we wished for is an understatement. Finally, we have it, this fifth album from the Norwegians which, with its dark and mysterious iconography, is in line with the EP released a year and a half ago.

Surprisingly, it's a leap into the past to which the Conception of 2020 invites us. With its nervous riff, jerky rhythms and retro atmospheres, 'Of Raven and Pigs' thrown us twenty years back in time. The chorus takes its time to emerge but patience is amply rewarded by its melodic effervescence, a quality that the band demonstrates throughout this short and surprising album. Surprising, because "State Of Deception" presents a multitude of formats, gathering pure energy tracks like 'By The Blues' that could easily flood all the radios, 'Waywardly Broken', 'No Rewind' and 'She Dragoon' that sail between the 1997 Conception and Ark, the orchestrated power ballad 'The Mansion' and finally the confusing 'Anybody Out There' with its progressive and epic fibre.

Going straight to the point is one of the revealing traits of the band's state of mind. The writing is purified, with a Tore Østby in great shape to lay down essential and creative riffs (for example those of 'Waywardly Broken', both nervous and reptilian), while being enriched with arrangements like the strings of the thrilling 'She Dragoon' that bring the right tension, or in 'No Rewind'. This setting offers Roy Khan an ideal playing field to express all his art and he does not deprive himself of it. Whether it's uncompromisingly energetic ('Of Raven and Pigs', 'By the Blues'), sophisticated ('She Dragoon', 'Anybody Out There') or emotionally moving ('Feather Moves', 'The Mansion'), the former Kamelot singer delivers a masterful performance. The rest of the band is in unison, just like in the sublime 'Feather Moves' which closes the record and whose absence in the previous EP we had so much regretted, with its precise and aerial drums, this bass that vibrates with the same pulse as our hearts and the unique caress of Tore Ostby in a solo as delicate as it is poignant.

"My Dark Symphony" and "State Of Deception" are the two faces of the same medal forged in the most precious metals. The former has a darker side with less easily assimilated melodies while the latter shines more intensely with an invigorating energy and percussive choruses. Somehow incomplete when considered independently, these two records combine perfectly to take Conception towards a most successful rebirth. 

More informations on https://conceptionmusic.com/



SIMILAR BANDS:
ARK, , KAMELOT

TRACK LISTING:
01. In Deception
02. Of Raven And Pigs
03. Waywardly Broken
04. No Rewind
05. The Mansion
06. By The Blues
07. Anybody Out There
08. She Dragoon
09. Feather Moves (remastered)


LINEUP:
Arve Heimdal: Batterie
Ingar Amlien: Basse
Roy Khan: Chant
Tore Østby: Guitares
Elize Ryd: Chant / Invité


TAGS:
Technical
 
 
(0) MIND(S) FROM OUR READERS
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Top of the page
(1) COMMENT(S)
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
TORPEDO - 22/03/2020 15:47:35
0
Je ne connaissais pas Conception... C'te honte ! Je suis en train de me faire toute la disco.
Top of the page
IN RELATION WITH CONCEPTION
LAST NEWS
CONCEPTION: State Of Deception
All news about CONCEPTION
RATING
- /5 (0 view(s)) 4/5 (5 view(s))
MY RATE:
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
PREVIOUS REVIEW
GOD DETHRONED: Illuminati (2020)
DEATH METAL God Dethroned signs with "Illuminati" a rich and intelligent work, in a catchy Black/Death genre.
 
NEXT REVIEW
THE NEW ROSES: Nothing But Wild (2019)
HARD ROCK With "Nothing But Wild", The New Roses imposes a strong identity with US colours and communicative energy.
STREAMING
 
The album may not have been released or the spotify ID has not yet been entered or there is no spotify ID available
 
OTHER(S) REVIEWS ABOUT CONCEPTION
CONCEPTION_My-Dark-Symphony
My Dark Symphony (2018)
4/5
5/5
AUTRE LABEL / PROGRESSIVE METAL
CONCEPTION_Flow
Flow (1997)
5/5
3/5
NOISE / PROGRESSIVE METAL
CONCEPTION_In-Your-Multitude
In Your Multitude (1995)
5/5
4/5
NOISE / PROGRESSIVE METAL
CONCEPTION_Parallel-Minds
Parallel Minds (1994)
4/5
4/5
NOISE / PROGRESSIVE METAL
CONCEPTION_The-Last-Sunset
The Last Sunset (1993)
5/5
-/5
NOISE / PROGRESSIVE METAL
 
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

GROUPE/AUTEUR:

CONCEPTION

(NORVÈGE)

TITRE:
STATE OF DECEPTION (2020)
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
METAL PROGRESSIF

"Parfaite suite à l’EP "My Dark Symphony" qui nous avait enthousiasmé il y a un peu plus d’un an, "State Of Deception" entérine la superbe renaissance de Conception."
NUNO777 - 19.03.2020 - (0) Avis des lecteurs - (1) commentaire(s)
4/5
Avec la sortie de l’EP "My Dark Symphony", c’est l'un de nos souhaits qui s’exauçait avec la renaissance du groupe culte Conception. Dire que nous fûmes comblés en apprenant la réalisation de l’album que nous appelions de nos vœux est un euphémisme. Nous le tenons ce cinquième album des Norvégiens qui, par son iconographie sombre et mystérieuse, s’inscrit dans la lignée de l’EP sorti il y a un an et demi.

Étonnamment c’est un bond dans le passé auquel nous invite le Conception de 2020. Avec son riff nerveux, ses rythmiques saccadées et ses atmosphères rétro, nous sommes projetés vingt ans en arrière quand ‘Of Raven and Pigs’ ouvre le bal avec la vertigineuse jubilation d’écouter le tout premier Ark. Le refrain prend son temps pour émerger mais la patience est largement récompensée par son effervescence mélodique, qualité que le groupe démontre tout au long de ce court et surprenant album. Surprenant par le développement de ce morceau dont l’intensité grandissante se fait par la montée d’une liesse vocale inattendue. "State Of Deception" est aussi remarquable par la multitude de ses formats qui voient cohabiter des condensés d’énergie pure avec ‘By The Blues’ qui pourrait facilement inonder toutes les radios, ‘Waywardly Broken’, ‘No Rewind’ et ‘She Dragoon’ qui voguent entre le Conception de 1997 et Ark, la power ballad orchestrée ‘The Mansion’, elle aussi aux prétentions consensuelles évidentes avec la voix d'Elize Ryd et ses charmes mélodiques indéniables, et enfin le déroutant ‘Anybody Out There’ à la fibre progressive et épique.

La propension à faire fructifier les acquis tout en allant droit au but est un des traits révélateurs de l’état d’esprit du groupe. L’écriture est épurée, avec un Tore Østby en grande forme pour pondre des riffs essentiels et créatifs (par exemple ceux de ‘Waywardly Broken’, à la fois nerveux et reptiliens), tout en étant enrichie d’arrangements suffisants à l’instar des cordes du jouissif ‘She Dragoon’ qui apportent la tension juste, ou dans ‘No Rewind’ en tendant l’oreille. Ce cadre offre un terrain de jeu idéal à Roy Khan pour exprimer tout son art et il ne s’en prive pas. Tour à tour sans concession dans l’énergie déployée (‘Of Raven and Pigs’, ‘By the Blues’), sophistiqué et acteur (‘She Dragoon‘, ‘Anybody Out There’) ou transmettant une émotion touchante (‘Feather Moves’, ‘The Mansion’), l'ancien chanteur de Kamelot signe une prestation magistrale. Le reste du groupe est à l’unisson, à l’image du sublime ‘Feather Moves’ qui clôt le disque et dont nous avions tellement regretté l’absence dans l’EP précédent, avec sa batterie précise et aérienne, cette basse qui vibre à la même pulsation que nos cœurs et la caresse unique de Tore Ostby dans un solo aussi délicat que poignant.

"My Dark Symphony" et "State Of Deception" sont le revers et l’avers d’une même médaille forgée dans les métaux les plus précieux. Le premier a une face plus sombre avec des mélodies moins facilement assimilables alors que le second brille plus intensément d’une énergie vivifiante et de refrains percutants. D’une certaine manière incomplets si on les considère indépendamment, ces deux disques se conjuguent parfaitement pour emmener Conception vers une renaissance des plus réussies.

Plus d'information sur https://conceptionmusic.com/



GROUPES PROCHES:
KAMELOT, , ARK

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. In Deception
02. Of Raven And Pigs
03. Waywardly Broken
04. No Rewind
05. The Mansion
06. By The Blues
07. Anybody Out There
08. She Dragoon
09. Feather Moves (remastered)


FORMATION:
Arve Heimdal: Batterie
Ingar Amlien: Basse
Roy Khan: Chant
Tore Østby: Guitares
Elize Ryd: Chant / Invité


TAGS:
Technique
 
 
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Haut de page
(1) COMMENTAIRE(S)
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
TORPEDO - 22/03/2020 15:47:35
0
Je ne connaissais pas Conception... C'te honte ! Je suis en train de me faire toute la disco.
Haut de page
EN RELATION AVEC CONCEPTION
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
CONCEPTION: Nouvelle vidéo
Toutes les actualités sur CONCEPTION
NOTES
- /5 (0 avis) 4/5 (5 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
CHRONIQUE PRECEDENTE
GOD DETHRONED: Illuminati (2020)
DEATH METAL God Dethroned signe avec "Illuminati" une œuvre riche et intelligente, dans un black death qui sait se faire accrocheur.
 
CHRONIQUE SUIVANTE
THE NEW ROSES: Nothing But Wild (2019)
HARD ROCK Avec "Nothing But Wild", The New Roses impose une identité forte aux couleurs US affirmées et à l’énergie communicative.
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
L'album n'est peut être pas sorti ou l'ID spotify n'a pas encore été renseigné ou il n'y a pas d'ID spotify disponible
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT CONCEPTION
CONCEPTION_My-Dark-Symphony
My Dark Symphony (2018)
4/5
5/5
AUTRE LABEL / METAL PROGRESSIF
CONCEPTION_Flow
Flow (1997)
5/5
3/5
NOISE / METAL PROGRESSIF
CONCEPTION_In-Your-Multitude
In Your Multitude (1995)
5/5
4/5
NOISE / METAL PROGRESSIF
CONCEPTION_Parallel-Minds
Parallel Minds (1994)
4/5
4/5
NOISE / METAL PROGRESSIF
CONCEPTION_The-Last-Sunset
The Last Sunset (1993)
5/5
-/5
NOISE / METAL PROGRESSIF
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020