MW / Home / Reviews / ALTER BRIDGE: One Day Remains
BAND/AUTHOR:

ALTER BRIDGE

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
ONE DAY REMAINS
RELEASE DATE:
2004
LABEL:
WIND-UP RECORDS
GENRE:
GRUNGE
"From the ashes of Creed, Alter Bridge is born and succeeded in its (small) conversion, especially since the transition was short and the mutation moderate."
HYPERUNKNOWN - 20.07.2011 -
The release of "One Day Remains" almost coincides with the announcement of the separation between Scott Stapp and his classmates from Creed. Barely two months after the divorce was official, Tremonti, the bag full of new electric tracks written the year before, is impressed by the performances of a hairy man officiating at 'The Mayfield Four' who accept easily to enter the band.

Yet Stapp's stamp, deep and rocky, was clearly one of the hallmarks of the globally successful combo and replacing it was not a risk-free affair. But given the class and mastery developed by Myles Kennedy, fears will soar as fast as the sales of their first album (eight times less than Creed's last album before their spilt, however). Especially since musically speaking, Alter Bridge presents itself as an almost identical version of Creed. The Phoenix is thus reborn from its ashes, with its share of tracks with riffs as thick as a grizzly bear's skin and compositions of ever-more moving sensibilities. 

Especially since "Find The Real" reassures on the potential of the Tremonti's band. With his 6-strings slung back, he asserts the first seconds of a heavy and grungy shot that places the scene in a dark landscape from the beginning, out of step with the more optimistic side of the lyrics. From one end of these fifty-five minutes to the other, the virtuoso guitarist will wear his leader's armour to throw blocks that he joins with the muscular help of Phillips behind the drums, and whose "Metalingus" will be the highlight of this imposing massive with its stirring shapes.

But the band has another asset, that of the vigorous ballads but which tighten the heart without however indulging in sentimentality ("Open Your Eyes", "Down To The Last" and "Shed My Skin"). "Broken Wings" better than any other dominates the category by the intensity of its chorus and the ostentatious emotional outbursts that give you goose bumps. More sober and balanced, "In Loving Memory", composed by Mark Tremonti following the death of his mother, is a beautiful and peaceful clearing in the middle of this tumult.

It is always impressive how some artists manage to sublimate themselves in the most painful or at least the most difficult moments to manage. Alter Bridge succeeded in its (small) conversion, especially since the transition was short and the mutation moderate.

More informations on http://www.alterbridge.com/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

HEAVEN'S BASEMENT, STONEDRIVE, HOTEL DIABLO

TRACK LISTING

01. Find the Real - 04:43
02. One Day Remains - 04:05
03. Open Your Eyes - 04:58
04. Burn It Down - 06:11
05. Metalingus - 04:19
06. Broken Wings - 05:06
07. In Loving Memory - 05:40
08. Down to My Last - 04:46
09. Watch Your Words - 05:25
10. Shed My Skin - 05:08
11. The End Is Here - 04:57


LINEUP

Brian Marshall : Basse
Mark Tremonti : Guitares / Backing vocals
Myles Kennedy: Guitares / Lead vocals
Scott Phillips: Batterie / Percussions


TAGS:
Rasping voice, Heavy
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS ALTER BRIDGE
LAST NEWS
ALTER BRIDGE: Walk The Sky
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about ALTER BRIDGE
 
RATING
 
4/5 (2 view(s))
4/5 (2 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS ALTER BRIDGE
 
ALTER-BRIDGE_Walk-The-Sky Walk The Sky (2019)
NAPALM RECORDS / ALTERNATIVE METAL
ALTER-BRIDGE_The-Last-Hero The Last Hero (2016)
NAPALM RECORDS / ALTERNATIVE METAL
ALTER-BRIDGE_Fortress Fortress (2013)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / ALTERNATIVE_ROCK
ALTER-BRIDGE_AB-III AB III (2010)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / GRUNGE
ALTER-BRIDGE_BlackBird BlackBird (2007)
UNIVERSAL / GRUNGE
ALTER-BRIDGE_One-Day-Remains One Day Remains (2004)
WIND-UP RECORDS / GRUNGE
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

GROUPE/AUTEUR:

ALTER BRIDGE

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
ONE DAY REMAINS (2004)
LABEL:
WIND-UP RECORDS
GENRE:
GRUNGE

"Alter Bridge se présente comme une mouture quasi-identique de Creed avec son lot de brûlots aux riffs épais comme la peau d’un grizzli et de creusets de sensibilités toujours aussi émouvants."
HYPERUNKNOWN - 20.07.2011 - (0) Avis des lecteurs - (0) commentaire(s)
4/5
La sortie dans les bacs de "One Day Remains" coïncide presque avec l’annonce de la séparation entamée entre Scott Stapp et ses camarades de Creed. A peine deux mois après l’officialisation du divorce, Tremonti, la besace pleine de nouveaux pains électriques pétris l’année d’avant, s’enflamme devant les performances d’un chevelu officiant chez The Mayfield Four qui ne se fera pas prier pour accepter l’invitation des trois d’Orlando.

Pourtant, le timbre de Stapp, grave et rocailleux, était clairement l’une des marques de fabrique du combo au succès planétaire et le remplacer n’était pas une affaire sans risque. Mais au vu de la classe et la maestria que développent Myles Kennedy, les craintes s’envoleront aussi vite que les ventes de leur premier opus (quoique au finale huit fois moindre par rapport au dernier album de Creed avant leur spilt). D’autant plus que musicalement parlant, Alter Bridge se présente comme une mouture quasi-identique de Creed. Le phœnix renaît donc de ses cendres, avec son lot de brûlots aux riffs épais comme la peau d’un grizzli et de creusets de sensibilités toujours aussi émouvants.

D’autant que "Find The Real" met tout le monde d’accord sur l’état de santé de la bande à Tremonti. Sa 6-cordes remise en bandoulière, il assène les premières secondes d’un plan lourd et grungy qui place d’entrée le décor dans un paysage sombre en décalage avec le côté plus optimiste des propos. D’un bout à l’autre de ces cinquante-cinq minutes, le guitariste virtuose se bardera de sa cuirasse de leader afin de jeter des parpaings qu’il jointe notamment avec l’aide musclée de Phillips derrière les fûts, et dont "Metalingus" sera le point culminant de cet imposant massif aux formes remuantes.

Remuantes car le Pont de Floride excelle également de l’autre côté de la rive, celle des ballades vigoureuses mais qui serrent le cœur sans toutefois se complaire dans la sensiblerie ("Open Your Eyes", "Down To The Last" et "Shed My Skin"). "Broken Wings" mieux que tout autre domine la catégorie par l’intensité de son refrain et les montées d’émotivités ostentatoires qui donnent la chair de poule. Plus sobre et pondéré, "In Loving Memory", composé par Mark Tremonti suite au décès de sa mère, constitue pour sa part une belle et paisible clairière au milieu de ce tumulte.

C’est toujours impressionnant à quel point certains artistes arrivent à se sublimer dans les moments les plus douloureux ou du moins les plus épineux à gérer. Alter Bridge réussit le pari de sa (petite) reconversion, d’autant que la transition fut courte et la mutation modérée.

Plus d'information sur http://www.alterbridge.com/



GROUPES PROCHES:
HOTEL DIABLO, STONEDRIVE, HEAVEN'S BASEMENT

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Find the Real - 04:43
02. One Day Remains - 04:05
03. Open Your Eyes - 04:58
04. Burn It Down - 06:11
05. Metalingus - 04:19
06. Broken Wings - 05:06
07. In Loving Memory - 05:40
08. Down to My Last - 04:46
09. Watch Your Words - 05:25
10. Shed My Skin - 05:08
11. The End Is Here - 04:57


FORMATION:
Brian Marshall : Basse
Mark Tremonti : Guitares / Backing vocals
Myles Kennedy: Guitares / Lead vocals
Scott Phillips: Batterie / Percussions


TAGS:
Chant éraillé, Lourde
 
 
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Haut de page
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
Aucun commentaire. Soyez le premier à donner votre avis sur cette chronique ou sur cette production
Haut de page
EN RELATION AVEC ALTER BRIDGE
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
ALTER BRIDGE: Nouvelle vidéo
Toutes les actualités sur ALTER BRIDGE
DERNIER ARTICLE
ALTER BRIDGE + AS LIONS - L'ELYSEE MONTMARTRE - 10 OCTOBRE 2017
C'est dans un Elysée Montmartre toujours aussi beau, qu'Alter Bridge nous a donné rendez vous ce soir ! Tous les articles sur ALTER BRIDGE
DERNIERE INTERVIEW
Quelques heures avant son concert à la Maroquinerie, Alter Bridge représenté par son bassiste Brian Marshall, et malgré un planning très serré, accordait à Music Waves une interview entre quatres yeux !

NOTES
4/5 (2 avis) 4/5 (2 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
CHRONIQUE PRECEDENTE
S-PROJECT: Mourir Au Combat Ou Vivre Dans L'Ombre (2011)
HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
 
CHRONIQUE SUIVANTE
IWRESTLEDABEARONCE: Running It For Everybody (2011)
AUTRES EXTREME
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT ALTER BRIDGE
ALTER-BRIDGE_Walk-The-Sky
Walk The Sky (2019)
4/5
-/5
NAPALM RECORDS / METAL ALTERNATIF
ALTER-BRIDGE_The-Last-Hero
The Last Hero (2016)
4/5
5/5
NAPALM RECORDS / METAL ALTERNATIF
ALTER-BRIDGE_Fortress
Fortress (2013)
5/5
4.5/5
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / ROCK ALTERNATIF
ALTER-BRIDGE_Live-From-Amsterdam
Live From Amsterdam (2011)
4/5
2/5
UNIVERSAL / GRUNGE
ALTER-BRIDGE_AB-III
AB III (2010)
4/5
4/5
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / GRUNGE
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020