MW / Home / Reviews / CRASHDIET: The Savage Playground
BAND/AUTHOR:

CRASHDIET

(SWEDEN)

TITLE:
THE SAVAGE PLAYGROUND
RELEASE DATE:
2013
LABEL:
FRONTIERS RECORDS
GENRE:
MELODIC HARD ROCK
"A step below the previous one, here is after all a very appreciable album close to "Nickleback"."
METALNATURE - 25.01.2013 -
Glam is a musical genre that is quite difficult to define when we focus on musical qualities rather than clothing elements. In the seventies, it included Slade, Sweet, T-Rex, but also Roxy Music and Bowie. He had his first revival in the 80s with hard melo bands (Poison, Ratt, or Motley Crüe) with very visual accoutrements combined with dynamic and melodic music closer to Slade or Sweet than Bowie! Combining the sparkling aspects of audio and visuals, several bands have been enjoying growing success in recent years; and the wave is coming from the North with bands like Wig Wam, Poodles or Crazy Lixx.

Integrating the codes of the genre, Crashdiet had a dazzling start, unfortunately stopped abruptly by the suicide of their singer Dave Lepard. After some hesitation, they went back on the road and now offer their fourth album, and the second with an unchanged formation. The previous one was a small jewel of melodies and glam tinged with metal, Simon Cruz's voice lending itself to multiple stylistic variations.

The first listening leaves a dubious impression, the sound seeming close to  "Nickleback" and a little smoother. The opus is dotted with very (too) muffled choirs and melodies ("California", "Got A Reason") where Simon Cruz seems much more restrained than on the previous album.

Despite this disappointment, the album can be listened to with great pleasure, the different tracks gradually taking on more importance and the production revealing its share of small catchy gimmicks (the U2 riff on "Excited", the snake whistles on "Snakes In Paradise"). The single "Cocaine" is however symptomatic of the desire to "conquer" America, a project that has already burned the wings of more than one talented group (Slade, Accept, ...). The guitars are as inflated as the NBA players' performances, and Cruz's voice is more tampered with than Lance Amstrong's victories. As in the two cases mentioned above, the result is nevertheless very effective. Many titles could thank Def Leppard or Dokken at their summit ("Anarchy", "Circus"), but they do so with such a certain talent that they are immediately granted a pardon.

Last but not least, there are a few large cartridges missing (such as "Snakes in Paradise") that would have made us forget the above-mentioned defects. In "Garden Of Babylon", Simon and his henchmen finally let go a little bit and the 7 minutes hold the road, looking towards the dark side and inspired by a Lilian Axe. 

A step below the previous one, here is after all a very appreciable album.

More informations on http://www.crashdiet.org/


SIMILAR BANDS

DEF LEPPARD, MOTLEY CRUE, TWISTED SISTER, CRAZY LIXX, KISSIN' DYNAMITE, BACKYARD BABIES, DOWN & DIRTY, SANTA CRUZ (FIN), RECKLESS LOVE, TIGERTAILZ

TRACK LISTING

01. Change The World - 05:34
02. Cocaine Cowboys - 04:20
03. Anarchy - 02:59
04. California - 04:44
05. Lickin' Dog - 03:08
06. Circus - 04:43
07. Sin City - 03:36
08. Got A Reason - 04:45
09. Drinkin' Without You - 04:12
10. Snakes In Paradise - 04:27
11. Damage Kid - 03:48
12. Excited - 05:35
13. Garden Of Babylon - 07:14


LINEUP

Eric Young: Batterie
Martin Sweet : Guitares
Peter London: Basse
Simon Cruz : Chant


TAGS:
Chorus, Rasping voice, Easy Listening / FM
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS CRASHDIET
LAST NEWS
CRASHDIET: New lyric video
VIDEO

Read the news
View all news about CRASHDIET
 
RATING
 
4/5 (2 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS CRASHDIET
 
CRASHDIET_RUST Rust (2019)
FRONTIERS RECORDS / MELODIC HARD ROCK
CRASHDIET_The-Savage-Playground The Savage Playground (2013)
FRONTIERS RECORDS / MELODIC HARD ROCK
CRASHDIET_Generation-Wild Generation Wild (2010)
FRONTIERS RECORDS / MELODIC HARD ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

ARTISTE:

CRASHDIET

(SUÈDE)
TITRE:

THE SAVAGE PLAYGROUND

(2013)
LABEL:

FRONTIERS RECORDS

GENRE:

HARD ROCK MELODIQUE

TAGS:
Chant éraillé, FM
"Un album très appréciable proche de Nickelback qui égrène sa musique sans trop perturber vos activités professionnelles ou ménagères."
METALNATURE (25.01.2013)  
4/5
(0) Avis des lecteurs (0) commentaire(s)

Le Glam est un genre musical assez difficile à cerner dès lors que l’on s’attarde sur les qualités musicales plus que sur les éléments vestimentaires. Dans les années septante, il intégrait Slade, Sweet, T-Rex, mais aussi Roxy Music et Bowie. Il a connu un premier revival dans les années 80 avec des groupes de hard melo (Poison, Ratt, ou Motley Crüe) à l’accoutrement très visuel combiné à une musique péchue et mélodique plus proche de Slade ou de Sweet que de Bowie ! Combinant les aspects scintillants de l’audio et du visuel, plusieurs groupes connaissent depuis quelques années maintenant un succès grandissant ; et la vague vient du Nord avec des groupes comme Wig Wam, Poodles ou Crazy Lixx.

Intégrant les codes du genre, Crashdiet a connu des débuts fulgurants, hélas stoppés net par le suicide de leur chanteur Dave Lepard. Après quelques hésitations, ils sont repartis sur la route et offrent maintenant leur quatrième album, et le second avec une formation inchangée. Le précédent était un petit joyau de mélodies et de glam teinté de métal, la voix de Simon Cruz se prêtant à de multiples variations de style.

Il était intéressant de voir si ce nouvel album, "The Savage Playground", allait confirmer les promesses du précédent. Le parrainage d’un gros label est souvent à double tranchant car les attentes des investisseurs est souvent trop grande. La première écoute laisse d’ailleurs place à une impression dubitative, le son semblant à la fois grossi pour sonner "américain à la Nickleback" et un peu lissé. L'opus est parsemé de chœurs et de mélodies très (trop) feutrées ("California", "Got A Reason") où l’ami Simon Cruz parait bien plus bridé que sur l’album précédent.

Passée cette double déception, l’album s’écoute et se réécoute avec un grand plaisir, les différents titres prenant petit à petit plus d’ampleur et la production révélant son lot de petits gimmicks accrocheurs (le riff U2 sur "Excited", les sifflements de serpent sur "Snakes In Paradise"). Le single "Cocaïne" est cependant symptomatique du désir de "conquérir" l’Amérique, projet qui a déjà brûlé les ailes de plus d’un groupe talentueux (Slade, Accept, ...). Les guitares sont aussi gonflées que les performances des joueurs de la NBA, et la voix de Cruz plus trafiquée que les victoires de Lance Amstrong. Comme dans les deux cas précités, le résultat est pourtant très efficace. Beaucoup de titres pourraient remercier Def Leppard ou Dokken à leur sommet ("Anarchy", "Circus"), mais ils le font avec un talent tellement certain que le pardon leur est immédiatement accordé.

Dernier bémol, si toutes les plages sont plus que sympathiques, il manque quelques grosses cartouches (comme par exemple "Snakes in Paradise") qui nous auraient fait oublier les défauts précités. Dans "Garden Of Babylon", Simon et ses sbires se lâchent enfin un peu et les 7 minutes tiennent la route, lorgnant vers le côté sombre et inspiré d’un Lilian Axe (peut-être une piste à suivre).

Un cran en dessous du précédent, voilà donc un album très appréciable qui égrène sa musique sans trop perturber vos activités professionnelles ou ménagères.


Plus d'information sur http://www.crashdiet.org/





LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Change The World - 05:34
02. Cocaine Cowboys - 04:20
03. Anarchy - 02:59
04. California - 04:44
05. Lickin' Dog - 03:08
06. Circus - 04:43
07. Sin City - 03:36
08. Got A Reason - 04:45
09. Drinkin' Without You - 04:12
10. Snakes In Paradise - 04:27
11. Damage Kid - 03:48
12. Excited - 05:35
13. Garden Of Babylon - 07:14

FORMATION:
Eric Young: Batterie
Martin Sweet : Guitares
Peter London: Basse
Simon Cruz : Chant
   
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS    
Haut de page
   
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)    
 
 
Haut de page
LECTEURS:
-/5 (0 avis)
STAFF:
4/5 (2 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
CRASHDIET : Un concert entier à regarder filmé samedi
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
GEMINY: The Prophecy (2013)
METAL PROGRESSIF -
LORDI: Deadache (2008)
METAL MELODIQUE - "Deadache" n'est pas une prise de risque pour Lordi qui propose toujours des mélodies musclées et des refrains irrésistibles portés par une voix unique, grave et éraillée.
 
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT CRASHDIET
CRASHDIET_RUST
Rust (2019)
4/5
-/5
FRONTIERS RECORDS / HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
CRASHDIET_Generation-Wild
Generation Wild (2010)
4/5
-/5
FRONTIERS RECORDS / HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2021